Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Recommended Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory - Ref P 87.5 .E496 2009
This encyclopedia provides an overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media - Ref P 96.S5 E53 2012
This encyclopedia critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies - Ref GN 495.6 .C37 2004
This reference work covers many aspects of race and ethnic studies - rrom Aboriginal Australians to xenophobia, Nelson Mandela to Richard Wagner, sexuality to racial profiling, the encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Ref HQ16 .E52 2007
Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender.
International Encyclopedia of Communication - Ref P87.5 .I58 2008
12 vols. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2008. A multidisciplinary compilation of essays on communication, ranging from human-computer interaction to art as a means of communication to communications theory. Each essay is followed by a bibliography of selected sources for further research.
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities - Ref HQ 1090 .I58 2007
This Encyclopedia offers entries related to scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world and across three dimensions: areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture - Ref HQ76.96 .R68 2006
Provides concise entries on subjects related to queer culture, ranging from arts, politics, literature and many other topics
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License