Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference Works
Dictionary of Anthropology - Ref GN 307 .D485 1997
Provides brief discussions of terms in physical and cultural anthropology as well as related terms in archaeology, biological anthropology, and linguistics. Brief biographies of major anthropologists are also included.
A Dictionary of Sociology - Ref HM 425 .D5735 2005
Wide-ranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind. Compiled by a team of sociological experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it is packed with over 2,500 entries. With terms taken from sociology and the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science, it provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology, from adaptation to zero tolerance. It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm. Jargon-free entries are elaborated with clear descriptions and in-depth analysis, many using real-life examples, making even the most complicated subjects easy to understand.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology - Ref GN 11 .E63 2006
This five-volume set is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Special attention is given to hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.
Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience - Ref HQ 1073 .E544 2009
This encyclopedia includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning.
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreams: the Evolution, Function, Nature, and Mysteries of Slumber - Ref QP 425 .E53 2012
This reference covers all of the major topics concerning dreaming and sleep, based on the latest empirical evidence from sleep research as well as drawn from a broad range of disciplinary contexts, including history, and anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Sociology - Ref HM 425 .E5 2000
This set provides up-to-date and scholarly discussions of topics in the field such as class and race, ethnicity, economic sociology, and social structure. Each article is written by a specialist and all have excellent bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology - Ref GV 706.4 .E5 2014
Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings.
Encyclopedia of the Mind - Ref BF 441 .E53 2013 (2 vols.)
Provides succinct entries on topics and perspectives from the major disciplines concerned with study of the mind, with an emphasis on psychology. Includes bibliographies for further reading.
Handbook of Psychology - Ref BF121 .H213 2013, 12 vols.
Offers in-depth coverage of current knowledge in the field. Each volume tackles a part of the discipline, including history, research methods, biological psychology, personality and social psychology, developmental, forensic, and clinical psychology. Intended for specialists, these volumes summarize the current accepted knowledge in the field.
Handbook of Social Psychology - Ref HM1011 .H37 2010 v.1-2
First published in 1935, this title was the first major reference work to cover the field of social psychology. The field has since evolved and expanded tremendously, and in each subsequent edition, This handbook is a still the reference that academics, researchers, and graduate students in psychology turn to for the most current, well-researched, and thorough information covering the field of social psychology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - Ref H 40 .A2 I5 2008 (9 vols)
A massive encyclopedia of social sciences topics, with each article written by an expert.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology - Ref GN 307 .E525 2012
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License