Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GRE 202: The Greek New Testament: Articles

Shall I Search the Web?

The Web is great for some topics, but not for others. With respect to biblical studies, you will find the Web is full of information on the Bible. Nevertheless, the vast majority of materials are focused on devotion rather than scholarship. Those that are more scholarly, tend to be significantly dated. In fact, the Web IS NOT A GOOD SOURCE FOR BIBLICAL SCHOLARSHIP.

Remember, however, that  in addition to its print resources, libraries often pay for resources that are accessed through the web, but these are not indexed in search engines such as Google and Bing. (For biblical scholarship, even Google Scholar often is rarely helpful.) Our library has over 100 of these databases, some of which are subject specific and others cover a range of subjects. See the box below for databases that will be particularly helpful for your exegecital paper. 

Recommended Article Databases

The library has many databases that can help you find articles relevant for almost any topic. Databases for articles and other materials offer references to publications that may or may not be in this library; some databases offer full text of articles and others simply citations or there may be a mix. There are in-depth databases that cover publications in a particular field and others that cover numerous subjects. The resources below should be helpful in your biblical research. 

Journals List

When you have an article with references, you can see if a particular reference is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License