LibGuides: GEG 102: World Geography: Follow the Thing Project Resources

About this Page

This page includes resources for your Follow The Thing Project.

Cranberry Harvest Time in Massachusetts by the USDA is in the public domain

Geography & Interdisciplinary Academic Journals

Development and Change
Full text in Academic Search Premier, 1998 - 12 months ago. Use the Find It! button to request more recent articles.
Economic Geography
You should be able to access full time from 1997-present through Academic Search Premier.
Global Networks
Full text in Academic Search Premier, 2001 - 12 months ago. Use the Find It! button to request more recent articles.
Journal of Consumer Culture
You should be able to access full time from 2001-present through Academic Search Premier.
Journal of Economic Geography
You should be able to link to full text or to request the article using the Find It! button in the EconLit database.
Journal of Material Culture
You should be able to link to full text or to request the article using the Find It! button in the Academic Search Premier.

Business / Industry Perspective Journals

The Economist
Full text available in print at the library. If you are not on campus this fall, you can request articles through using the Find It! button in Academic Search Premier.
Financial Times
Fortune
Full text available in Business Source Premier, 1992-present.

Examples of Sources

Industry profile from Business Source Premier:
MarketLine Industry Profile: Global Chocolate Confectionery. (2015). Chocolate Confectionery Industry Profile: Global, 1–35.

Document from a Google search:
Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. 2023. Major Tropical Fruits: Preliminary Results 2022.

Article from a trade publication in Business Source Premier:

Policy-Minded Startups Charter Decarbonized Cement and Concrete Alliance. Concrete Products, vol. 77, no. 2, Feb. 2024, p. 12.

Article from a scholarly journal in Academic Search Premier:
Vieux, F., Maillot, M., Rehm, C. D., Barrios, P., & Drewnowski, A. (2020). Trends in tap and bottled water consumption among children and adults in the United States: Analyses of NHANES 2011-16 data. Nutrition Journal, 19(1), 1–14.

Databases

These two databases may be especially useful for your project. Academic Search Premier includes scholarly, news, consumer, and trade publications. Business Source Premier includes business news, industry reports, and trade publications.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This business research database contains industry and company profiles, market research reports, and academic journals, magazine, and trade publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association's electronic database, contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, with coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview, a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

Catalog Search Box

Use this box to search for books at Gustavus. For more information on how to do this - and how to find books from other libraries - click on the Books tab above!

Advanced search · Books, videos, and music

Manufacturing

Industry associations - Search for websites of manufacturer or industry associations. For examples, see this list of over 2,000 professional and industry associations: Professional Associations (Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Labor, Employment and Training Administration). Click the "Data download" link (excel file) for a list of over 2,000 professional and industry association.
Website - How Products Are Made: Provides information on the manufacturing process for a variety of products. Most of the information on this site is from the 1990s or early 2000s, so you may need to supplement with more recent information.
Book - How Things Are Made by Andrew Terranova; Sharon Rose
Call Number: General Collection TS183 .R67 2018

Industry Profiles

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industries at a Glance
You may find this list of industries useful as you work on your research.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This business research database contains industry and company profiles, market research reports, and academic journals, magazine, and trade publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Organizations Focusing on Corporate Environmental and Social Rights Violations

Consumer Advocacy Groups

The links below provide lists of consumer advocacy groups and an example of a consumer advocacy group.

National Consumer Protection Week
Scroll down to see the list of NCPW partners, which includes non-profits as well as government entities
Public Interest Research Group

Environmental Groups & Agencies

These are just a few examples of environmental advocacy groups and government agencies. You can search for other international, federal, state, local, advocacy, and environmental research entities.

Librarian

Anna Hulseberg

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies, Nursing, Philosophy, Theatre and Dance