Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diverse Books Resources
Diversity metrics and critiques:
Book blogs focused on diversity
Browse this list of diversity book awards for children and young adults, compiled by Michigan State University Libraries.
From the Reference Collection
Our Reference Collection contains several guides to multicultural children's literature. Reference books are found on the main floor, Beck Hall side.
Across Cultures by
Call Number: Ref Z1037 .E19 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Black Authors and Illustrators of Books for Children and Young Adults by
Call Number: Ref PN 1009 .A1 M97 1999
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
The New Press Guide to Multicultural Resources for Young Readers by
Call Number: Ref PN 1009 .A1 N49 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults by
Call Number: Ref PN 1009 .A1 K78 1991
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Our Family, Our Friends, Our World by
Call Number: Ref PN 1009 .A1 M56 1992
Publication Date: 1991-01-30
Diverse Books, Authors and Publishing
These articles and posts explore the broader issues of diversity within authorship and publishing.
What is the We Need Diverse Books Campaign?
The We Need Diverse Books campaign believes that all children need to see themselves and their experiences reflected in the pages of books. Statistics compiled annually by the Cooperative Children's Book Center reveal that the representation of diversity within children's publishing is, frankly, dismal.
Walter Dean Myers' influential column for the New York Times in 2014 outlines the core issues at stake: "Books transmit values. They explore our common humanity. What is the message when some children are not represented in those books?"
The We Need Diverse Books Campaign brings together authors, editors, publishers and readers of children's literature in order to raise awareness of the issues and provide resources, community and support for making the world of children's books better represent the rich diversity in today's world.
Photo credit: Steven L. Shepard
Check It Out - Young Adult Books
This is a VERY small sample of the diverse young adult books in our library. While there isn't a sure-fire way of searching the catalog to find books that exhibit diversity, you can always head to the new Young Adult section in the library and browse our shelves. The Young Adult collection is located next to the Children's collection on the bottom floor, south end (Olin side).
Call Number: PS3554.A5815 U58 2015 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2015-09-29
A Love Story by
Call Number: PZ7.H7828 L69 2010 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2010-06-10
Before We Were Free by
Call Number: PZ7.A48 B45 2002 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2002-08-13
Shizuko's Daughter by
Call Number: PZ7.M826725 .S56 1993
Publication Date: 1993-03-15
Going Bovine by
Call Number: PZ7.B7386 G65 2009 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
Everything, Everything by
Call Number: PZ7.Y66 E94 2015 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Eleanor and Park by
Call Number: PZ7.R79613 E54 2013 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Call Number: PZ7.M996 M65 1999
Publication Date: 1999-04-21
She Is Not Invisible by
Call Number: PZ7.S4484 S54 2014 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Mexican WhiteBoy by
Call Number: PZ7.P3725 M49 2008 (Young Adult section)
Publication Date: 2008-08-12
Brown Girl Dreaming by
Call Number: PZ7.W868 B769 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Check It Out - Children's Books
Here are just a few books for younger readers (and young at heart readers) that celebrate and explore diversity. Find them - and more - in the Children's Collection (bottom floor, south side, look for the bright blue banner).
Call Number: PZ7.G566 G46 2015 (Children's section)
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
I, Too, Am America by
Call Number: PS3515.U274 I3 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-22
Heather Has Two Mommies by
Call Number: PZ1.N49 H43 2000 (Children's section)
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Marisol Mcdonald Doesn't Match / Marisol Mcdonald no Combina by
Call Number: PZ73 .B68564 2011 (Children's section)
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Call Number: HQ744 .K85 2006 (Children's section)
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library dedicates aquisition funds to develop a diverse collection. We define diversity broadly and try to reflect as many diverse experiences and voices in our collection as possible. The diversity display is a permanent display found in the Gustavus Library Associates Reading Room (main floor). New materials cycle through regularly, so stop by often to browse what's new. Feel free to borrow books from the display.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License