LibGuides: A Guide to Biology: Start

Ask Us!

Research Help:

Visit the Reference Desk (main floor) (M-F 10:30-2:30)
Chat with a librarian (M-F10:30-2:30)
E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name and the best way to contact you)
Make an Appointment: schedule an appointment for a one-on-one consultation with a librarian
Fill out the Research Next Steps form; a librarian will respond with research suggestions and advice

Science Daily Biology

News from the world of biology

Research in Biology

Biology, the study of living organisms, has a number of specialties inculding genetics, microbiology, zoology, entomology, marines science, neuroscience, and more. Biologists use library resources to keep up with current thinking in the field, review what is known to put new research in context, or simply to find information needed to carry out an experiment or a project. This guide is a starting point; don't hesitate to ask a librarian for further assistance.

Photo by Michael Longmire on Unsplash

Best Bets!

Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.

PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian and Eastern European Studies, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish