Not sure where to start? Use these research guides created by Gustavus librarians.
New Resources in 2023-2024
Ethnic Diversity Source (New!)This link opens in a new windowNew for Fall 2023! Ethnic Diversity Source covers the culture, traditions, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides the full text of nearly 500 journals, including almost 400 peer reviewed journals. It also provides access to the Diversity and Ethnic Studies collection of more than 5,000 ebooks.
Exploring Race in SocietyThis link opens in a new windowCovers issues related to race in society today. Includes content such as topical essays written by subject experts, full text journal articles, and primary source documents.
Grants IndexThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to grant data for over 400 funding agencies. Information on previously awarded grants can support researchers’ efforts to secure new funding.
African American Historical Serials CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAn archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1This link opens in a new windowAn archive focused on U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English. Includes historical articles, complete texts of historical books of Hispanic literature and culture, plus hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2This link opens in a new windowAn archive of rare manuscripts, newspapers and books by Latino-Hispanic Americans. Features manuscript collections of both individuals and organizations. Presents books and newspapers in their original form. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Civil War Primary Source DocumentsThis link opens in a new windowCivil War Primary Source Documents includes letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs, illustrations, and maps chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced.
CINAHL Complete (Nursing)This link opens in a new windowSearch CINAHL Complete for access to nursing & allied health journals, including full text for more than 1,300 journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowThis database provides resources for nursing and allied health research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. Includes training videos for nursing programs and cultural reports to support working with a diversity of patients. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Books at JSTOR
The Library provides access to ebooks through the JSTOR Evidence-Based Acquisition (EBA) program for 2023-24. The program includes ebooks published in 2020 or earlier (coming in January 2024: ebooks published in 2021). Access this collection by searching the Library’s online catalog and limiting the "source type" to "eBooks."
MIT Press Direct 2 Open The Library is excited to announce our participation inDirect 2 Open, anindependent, cost-effective, and accessible way for libraries to offer MIT Press e-books to their patrons.The program allows for unlimited simultaneous users and the e-books are DRM-free: users can print,copy and paste, and download PDFs by chapter. You can access this collection by searching theLibrary’s online catalog and limiting the "source type" to "eBooks."
ArtStor will migrate to the JSTOR platform in August 2024. The library will begin reaching out to faculty users of ArtStor in early 2024 to prepare for the change.
Questions or comments?
Contact firstname.lastname@example.org with questions or comments about database trials and new databases.