Skip to main content

CAMC Collection 027. Bederkesa Pädagogische Hochschule Album, 1948: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Bederkesa Pädagogische Hochschule Album, 1948.  CAMC Collection 27.  ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Bederkesa Pädagogische Hochschule collection consists of an album created by German students as a token of appreciation for aid packages sent by students at Gustavus Adolphus College following World War II.  The album consists of 73 leaves with 41 photographs and 66 pages of student art along with thank you notes.  Text within the collection is both German and English.

Much of this collection can be accessed through our online offerings: Bederkesa Pädagogische Hochschule Album.

Organization Note

In December 1947, Gustavus adopted Bederkesa Teacher’s College in Bederkesa, Germany.  Gusties sent twenty-five CARE packages to help Bederkesa’s students survive food shortages throughout the winter.  Bederkesa was established in 1947 to train teachers for public schools in Germany.  Men and women who had not subscribed to National Socialism were accepted into the program.  In addition, the school provided boarding to youth affected by the war.  These students came from a variety of circumstances.  Some had been persecuted or were refugees while others were orphans, semi-orphans, or economically destitute. Delta Epsilon Omicron, Gustavus’ social welfare organization, oversaw the clothing and food drive.

Scope and Content

The album contains thank you notes, as well as student art from the students of Bederkesa Teacher’s College and boarding school. There are photographs of the grounds and students as well.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License