Skip to main content

CAMC Collection 030. O’Brien, Susan. Research Files on Camilla Hall, 1967-1976: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

O’Brien, Susan.  Research Files on Camilla Hall, 1967-1976.  CAMC Collection 30.  13 Folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Susan O’Brien collection contains materials collected during her research of Camilla Hall and the Symbionese Liberation Army (SLA).  This includes correspondence from both O’Brien and Camilla Hall.  There are also copies of the news wire during the Patricia Hearst trial, claims for damages from the estate of William Wolf, statements and press releases pertaining to the shootout in Los Angeles on 17 May 1974, a few photographs, and some brief writings by O’Brien.

Biographical Note

Susan O’Brien decided to write a book about her high school friend Camilla Hall after learning that Hall was killed during a shootout between Los Angeles police and the Symbionese Liberation Army (SLA) on 17 May 1974. 

Camilla Hall was born in St. Peter, Minnesota during March 1945.  She graduated from Washburn High School in Minneapolis in 1963 and attended Gustavus Adolphus College for her first year subsequently transferring to the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.  She graduated with a degree in humanities during 1967 and went on to work as a social worker in Duluth and Minneapolis, Minnesota prior to moving to California.  On the west coast, Hall immersed herself in a variety of social movements and developed relationships with some individuals who eventually became active in the Symbionese Liberation Army (SLA).  Hall’s life ended on 17 May 1974 when she and several members of the SLA died during a gun battle with officers from the Los Angeles Police Department.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License