LibGuides: FTS: Sport, Leisure, and Society: Start

Ask Us!

Research Help:

Visit the Reference Desk (main floor) (M-F 10:30-2:30)
Chat with a librarian (M-F10:30-2:30)
E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name and the best way to contact you)
Make an Appointment: schedule an appointment for a one-on-one consultation with a librarian
Fill out the Research Next Steps form; a librarian will respond with research suggestions and advice

FTS100: Sport, Leisure, and Society

The library has many tools to help you conduct research on your topics. Use this guide to explore a selection of sources available to you. If you have questions, encounter problems, or simply want to talk about your topic, stop by the Reference Desk to chat with any of our librarians. You are also more than welcome to contact me directly at mtwait@gac.edu or x7563.

This guide is a starting point; don't hesitate to ask a librarian for further assistance.

Best Bets!

Link to the major database or other resource for the subject here. Edit or revise this text.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sport and fitness. Contains bibliographic references to international practical and research literature in sport, physical fitness, active living, and physical education. Contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. Provides full text for more than 440 journals. NOTE: Access is limited to four simultaneous users.