Skip to main content

GACA Collection 326. Martinson, Floyd. Papers of Floyd Martinson, 1947-2000: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Martinson, Floyd.  Papers of Floyd Martinson, 1947-2000.  GACA Collection 326.  3 Record Center Cartons, ½ legal Hollinger box, and 1 oversized Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Papers of Floyd Martinson collection includes material from his youth, research (particularly in the field of human sexuality), correspondence, published pieces, and his personal journals.  The documents and research span from his work as a student through studies conducted during his retirement.  The bulk of the materials date from the time of his employment as a Sociology professor at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Biographical Note

Floyd Mansfield Martinson was born in Montevideo, Minnesota on 12 November 1916.  In 1942 he graduated from Concordia College, Moorhead.  Martinson married Beatrice Awes on 15 June 1946, and they had five children.  He attended the University of Minnesota and obtained a Master of Arts degree in 1947 and a doctorate degree in philosophy in 1953.  Martinson was employed at Gustavus Adolphus College as a professor of sociology and anthropology from 1945 to 1982, and as a research professor from 1982 until his death on 23 April 2000.  He spent time abroad in Sweden in 1980 as a Fulbright Research Scholar and in Norway in 1984 as a visiting researcher at the Center for Child Research.  Martinson published nine books and contributed numerous articles to professional journals.  He held membership in many sociological associations both local and international, and was actively involved in several groups of the Lutheran Church.  Martinson was honored with a Fulbright Research Scholarship, an award from the Society for the Scientific Study of Sex in 1980, the Alfred C. Kinsey Award in 1988, and was presented with the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality’s Distinguished Scientific Research Award for his research into child sexuality from the American Sociological Association.    

*Information from The Saint Peter Herald. Saint Peter, Minnesota, 27 April 2000. 

Scope and Content

This collection has been divided into six series: Daily Planners/Diaries, Research, Teaching and Lectures, Writings and Publications, Correspondence, and Miscellaneous.

Daily Planners/Diaries, 1962-2000 consists of Martinson’s personal diaries and documentation of events and activities.

Research, 1956-1992 comprises a broad selection of research from the time of Martinson’s career as a professor through his retirement.  He pursued a broad range of topics including relationships of youth, childhood sexuality, and culture of Scandinavian countries.

Teaching and Lectures, 1959-1988 includes outlines of lectures Martinson delivered to his students as well as those presented in other academic and public settings.  This series also contains a selection of syllabi from courses he taught at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Writings and Publications, 1930-1997 contains manuscripts and essays written by Martinson on a variety of topics.  Much of the work is focused around human sexuality, particularly that of youth populations.

Correspondence, 1984-1999 involves personal and professional correspondence both domestic and foreign.  Some letters relate to research conducted by Martinson and with fellow Gustavus faculty.

Miscellaneous, 1943-1999 encompasses Martinson’s various memberships in sociological societies as well as his graduate work and career materials.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License