LibGuides: A Guide to Chemistry: Find Chemistry Articles

Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Search the Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

Journals Online

This online collection of journals in chemistry is an indispensable resource for chemists. Though not everything indexed in SciFinder will be here, the ACS is the most important and largest publisher of journals in the field.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
Searches ~50 American Chemical Society journals and other publications. Includes full text of ~20 journals and token access to additional journals. WAIT! Before you search, read the guidelines about expending ACS tokens.

Another journal of interest to chemists is not published by the ACS.

Angewandte Chemie International

There are many journals we don't subscribe to, but we can get articles from them through interlibrary loan. Never pay for an article - we'll get it for you for free.

Additional Journals

Two important journals that cover all of the sciences with both news articles and research articles (announcing new and significant research) are only available in print, shelved alphabetically with the other print journals on the lower level

Nature
Science

For fun coverage of the latest in science news try

New Scientist

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n (new in 2022) This link opens in a new window
What's new?
We now have access to a new-and-improved interface, SciFinder-n. If you are already a SciFinder user, you can access it with your existing username and password. If you are a new to SciFinder, see the instructions below for creating your account.

Get Started with SciFinder-n: Create Your Account
Before you access SciFinder-n from the web for the first time, you must create your own SciFinder-n username and password from on campus. To begin the user registration process, go to the User Registration Page from on campus. For more information, see the SciFinder User Registration Guide (PDF file). After you have gone through the user registration process, use your SciFinder-n username and password to log in from on campus or remotely.

About SciFinder-n
In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in the original SciFinder, SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. To find full text of articles or to request them from other libraries, click on "link to other sources." You may need to enable popups on your browser for this window to open.

Other Science Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.

Annual Series

These volumes provide basic information on the most important synthetic reactions and on reliable methods for preparing organic compounds.

ORGANIC REACTIONS, v 1, 1942 - (QD 251 .O7)
ORGANIC SYNTHESES, v. 20, 1940 - (QD 262 .O7); also available online.

Two other annual publications review recent research of interest in the fields of biochemistry and physical chemistry.

Annual Review of Biochemistry This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth literature reviews of research on topics in biochemistry.
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Offers reviews of research in important areas of the field.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian and Eastern European Studies, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (New in 2024)

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication This link opens in a new window
This guide covers topics ranging from scientific communication, to writing in scientific journals, to working with data, to scientific style conventions, to inclusivity in writing.

A Guide to Chemistry: Find Chemistry Articles