Skip to main content

Library Internships: Start

Library Internships

The Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library offers two distinct internship opportunities for students interested in learning more about the profession. Internships are available for the fall or spring semester and may be taken for credit, if one desires. Although the internships are unpaid, we make every effort to ensure that the internship is a valuable and enriching experience.

  • For more information on our library internships, please contact Michelle Twait (mtwait@gustavus.edu or 507.933.7563).
  • For information on librarianship, see our careers in librarianship resources guide.

Library Intern

Students will learn about the library's mission, vision, and strategic plan. Students will also have the opportunity to see how those values and ideals are reflected in the programs and services offered by the library. By working in various departments (acquisitions, cataloging, processing, circulation, audio-visual, government documents, interlibrary loan, archives, reference, instruction, collection development), students will have the opportunity to get a wide range of experience. Students' interests and aptitudes will determine the special projects. Projects may include, but are not limited to: developing a research guide on a particular subject, weeding an area of the collection, working with archival materials, planning a marketing/promotional event, and projects specific to a particular department.

Marketing Intern

The library seeks a detail-oriented individual eager to gain experience in marketing for libraries (or other nonprofit organizations). Projects may include, but are not limited to: administering a focus group or survey, writing copy for library publications, planning a marketing/promotional event, and developing a variety of marketing material for specific services or collections. Students will learn about the library's mission, vision, and strategic plan. Students will also have the opportunity to see how those values and ideals are reflected in the programs and services offered by the library. By meeting with staff in various departments (circulation, audio-visual, government documents, interlibrary loan, archives, reference, instruction, collection development), students will better understand the wide range of services and collections provided by the library. In particular, interns will work closely with the library's Outreach and Promotions Committee.

Sample Projects Completed by Former Interns

  • Created a guide and presented a training session for Writing Center tutors on library resources.
  • Created a Library & Archives Grants webpage and Film Studies resource guide, and used CONTENTdm software to upload Archives image and sound recording metadata.
  • Conducted interviews about the research practices of sophomore students.
  • Created and updated the library's social media sites on Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter and advertised library resources and events (marketing intern).
  • Assisted in weeding Children's Literature, interviewing students, research development, and archival processing.
  • Planned and promoted library services and events, such as Stress-Free Finals and National Library Week (marketing intern).
  • Established a student committee to increase student involvement in the library, contributed to the library’s blog, Folkelore, and created and updated promotional media (marketing intern).
  • Served as a peer reference tutor, created a research guide for the Global Insight "Circumpolar Year" and developed video tutorials.
  • Completed a collection development project focused on adding contemporary Latin American literature titles.
  • Assisted with a major ethnographic research project (library space study) and an archives digitization project.
  • Created a research guide for the Global Insight "Year of Food and Nutrition" and also assisted with a collection development project related to Victorian/Edwardian literature.
  • Created a guide about using popular magazines as primary sources; she also planned and facilitated a focus group discussion on reference services.
  • Participated in a major "weeding" project (the Oversize collection), served as an ex-officio member of library committees, and shadowed librarians at the reference desk.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License