ENG 228: American Pastoralism: Reference Collection

"With more than 10,000 biographical entries, this is the most comprehensive women's history encyclopedia available. This ambitious work profiles women throughout time and throughout the world. More than 2,500 signed articles written by academics, up to 5,000 words in length, highlight a particular woman's personal background and significance in history. Shorter entries spotlight historically important women who are less frequently researched or for whom less information is available. [...] This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: rulers, royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, entrepreneurs, philanthropists, investors, authors and more. Coverage includes many women for whom profiles are not included in traditional sources."

Librarian Note: The following index entries show where to find authors on the course syllabus. Volume number is in [brackets], followed by the page number. The number in bold is the main article about that author.

• Woolson, Constance Fenimore (1840-1894) - [16] 794-795
• Zitkála-Šá. See Bonnin, Gertrude Simmons (1876-1938) - [2] 738-743; [8] 463; [11] 504
• Dickinson, Emily (1830-1886) - [1] 438; [2] 554; [3] 138, 866; [4] 618-625; [6] 288; [7] 12; [8] 10, 767; [9] 738; [10] 754' [11] 16, 791, 869; [13] 252; [14] 503; [15] 105; [16] 858
• Bishop, Elizabeth (1911-1979) - [2] 558-562; [3] 780; [10] 53, 766; [11] 378; [15] 64
• Cather, Willa (1873-1947) - [1] 438, 649; [2] 679; [3] 517-521; [5] 558; [6] 284; [8] 149, 735; [10] 37; [11] 294; [14] 716

These authors also have index entries, but no individual articles of their own:

• Le Guin, Ursula K. - [12] 21
• Jefferson, Thomas [1] 42, 54; [4] 173, 217, 439; [7] 21, 194; [8] 114; [9] 35, 408; [10] 72, 594; [11] 793; [13] 86, 644; [14] 69, 679; [15] 676
• Thoreau, Henry David (1817-1862) - [1] 181; [5] 205, 820; [8] 148; [11] 793; [13] 353; [15] 162
• Emerson, Ralph Waldo - [1] 44, 180; [2] 24; [3] 3, 374, 664, 679; [4] 439, 613, 684; [5] 188, 204, 820-821; [6] 481, 690; [7] 82, 100, 499, 518; [8] 147, 152; [9] 43, 241, 839; [11] 498; [12] 420; [13] 320, 353; [14] 841; [15] 162; [16] 477, 666; [17] 36

Librarian Note: The following index entries show where to find authors on the course syllabus. Volume number is in [brackets], followed by the page number.

• Emerson, Ralph Waldo - [1] 287-307 [2] 724, 933, 934, 935-936, 1042, 1059, 1079, 1080, 1081, 1086, 1091, 1095, 1107, 1108, 1109, 1117, 1118, 1119
• Thoreau, Henry David - [1] 127-128, 288, 487-488 [2] 672, 698, 701, 704, 708, 724, 901-902, 933-950, 1041, 1059, 1107, 1108, 1118-1119, 1129, 1158
• Dickinson, Emily [2] 1080, 1081-1803
• Bishop, Elizabeth - [2] 1090-1091
• Le Guin, Ursula K. - [2] 1024, 1041, 1054-1057

"This book presents more than 350 biographies of men and women who have devoted their lives to studying, debating, and organizing controversial environmental issues over the last 200 years. In addition to the scientists who have analyzed how human actions affect nature, we are introduced to poets, landscape architects, presidents, painters, activists, even sanitation engineers, and others who have forever altered how we think about the environment. The easy to use A-Z format provides instant access to these individuals, and frequent cross references indicate others with whom individuals worked (and sometimes clashed). End of entry references provide users with a starting point for further research." - Publisher description

"The field of environmental ethics is a new but now well-established sub-discipline of philosophy. Emerging in the mid-1970s, the field coalesced with the inaugural volume of the journal Environmental Ethics in 1979 and developed rapidly. By the turn of the century, most colleges and universities offered courses, if not major programs of study, in this important discipline. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy addresses the needs of upper high school students, undergraduate researchers, teachers and professors, as well as general readers by examining the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy joins the suite of other Macmillan applied ethics titles: Encyclopedia of Bioethics and the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index." - Publisher description

"The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature is a landmark work in the burgeoning field of religion and nature. [...] The Encyclopedia critically explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life. This wide-ranging work, chronologically, geographically, and religiously, includes 1,000 entries from 520 international contributors. In addition to the standard, scholarly entry, this highly-accessible reference is creatively enriched through two unique, additional genres: scholarly perspectives articles wherein authors advance an argument or reflect on their own role in or views regarding the religion and nature field; and practitioner entries, which are written by well-known figures who have had an impact in the issues the encyclopedia engages." - Publisher description

Librarian note: See "Agrarianism," Vol. 1, 37-41 for extensive history of American agrarianism from Jefferson to the 20th century, as well as a bibliography. See also "Agricultural Ethics" (next article in volume) and in Vol. 2, pp. 1076-1078, "Jefferson, Thomas."

Librarian note: See "agrarianism," pp. 18-21 with bibliography.

"Often thought of as the quintessential home or the Eden from which humanity has fallen, the natural world has long been a popular object of nostalgic narratives. In Reclaiming Nostalgia, Jennifer Ladino assesses the ideological effects of this phenomenon by tracing its dominant forms in American literature and culture since the closing of the frontier in 1890. While referencing nostalgia for pastoral communities and for untamed and often violent frontiers, she also highlights the ways in which nostalgia for nature has served as a mechanism for social change, a model for ethical relationships, and a motivating force for social and environmental justice." -- back cover.

"Probes the ways in which two major periods in nineteenth-century American literature "Romanticism and Realism" have come to be understood and defined. 'Echoes of Emerson: Rethinking Realism in Twain, James, Wharton, and Cather' traces the complex and unexplored relationship between American realism and the philosophy of Ralph Waldo Emerson. Critics often read American realism as a clear disavowal of earlier American romantic philosophy and as a commitment to recognizing the stark realities of a new postbellum order. Diana Hope Polley's study complicates these traditional assumptions by reading American realism as an ongoing dialogue with the ideas - often idealisms - of America's greatest romantic philosopher, Ralph Waldo Emerson. In this illuminating work, Polley offers detailed readings of Mark Twain's Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Henry James's The Portrait of a Lady, Edith Wharton's The House of Mirth, and Willa Cather's My Antonia - all through the lens of Emersonian philosophy and discourse. This unique contribution to nineteenth- and early twentieth-century literary studies shows how these texts revisit Emerson's antebellum 'republic of the spirit' philosophy." - Publisher description

Librarian Note: Jefferson, Thomas - [3] 792-795 (main article), see extensive index entry for other subjects.

Librarian note: vol. 31, pp. 136-149, biographical article with extensive list of Jefferson's works, papers, documents, letters, as well as Jefferson bibliographies, biographies, and references.

Librarian Note: Emerson, Ralph Waldo - [2] 444-446 (main article), see extensive index entry for other subjects.

Librarian's note: Vol. 1, pp. 1-24. Extensive biography and selected bibliography of Emerson's works, Emerson bibliographies, biographies, and critical studies.

Librarian note: vol. 223, pp. 103-144, comprehensive biography of Ralph Waldo Emerson with an extensive list of published editions of his works, many illustrations, and a very extensive bibliography of editions of his letters, biographies, bibliographies, and many other secondary sources.

"The Cambridge Companion to Ralph Waldo Emerson is intended to provide a critical introduction to Emerson's work. The tradition of American literature and philosophy as we know it at the end of the twentieth century was largely shaped by Emerson's example and practice. This volume offers students, scholars, and the general reader a collection of fresh interpretations of Emerson's writing, milieu, influence, and cultural significance. All essays are newly commissioned for this volume, written at an accessible yet challenging level, and augmented by a comprehensive chronology and bibliography."--Jacket.

Librarian note: vol. 223, pp. 251-300, comprehensive biography of Thoreau with an extensive list of published editions of his works, many illustrations, and a very extensive bibliography of editions of Thoreau's letters, biographies, bibliographies, and many other secondary sources.

Librarian Note: Thoreau, Henry David - [4] 1263-1265 (main article), see extensive index entry for other subjects.

Librarian's note: Vol. 4, pp. 167-189. Extensive biography and selected bibliography of Thoreau's published works, posthumous selected prose, bibliographies of Thoreau, and critical and biographical studies.

Many books have taken up various aspects of Thoreau's character and achievements, but, as Laura Dassow Walls writes, "Thoreau has never been captured between covers; he was too quixotic, mischievous, many-sided." Two hundred years after his birth, and two generations after the last full-scale biography, Walls renews Henry David Thoreau for us in all his profound, inspiring complexity. Drawing on Thoreau's copious writings, published and unpublished, Walls presents a Thoreau vigorously alive, full of quirks and contradictions: the young man shattered by the sudden death of his brother; the ambitious Harvard College student; the ecstatic visionary who closed Walden with an account of the regenerative power of the Cosmos. We meet the man whose belief in human freedom and the value of labor made him an uncompromising abolitionist; the solitary walker who found society in nature, but also found his own nature in the society of which he was a deeply interwoven part. And, running through it all, Thoreau the passionate naturalist, who, long before the age of environmentalism, saw tragedy for future generations in the human heedlessness around him. "The Thoreau I sought was not in any book, so I wrote this one," says Walls. The result is a Thoreau unlike any seen since he walked the streets of Concord, a Thoreau for our time and all time.--Dust jacket.

Librarian note: Vol. 4, pp. 462-464. Brief biographical article on Constance Fenimore Woolson with bibliography of her works and secondary sources.

Librarian note: vol. 12, pp. 456-463, biography with analysis of her works and references.

Librarian note:pp. 495-503. Biography with major works and themes and a section on Woolson's contemporaneous reception, together with a bibliography of secondary sources.

"Constance Fenimore Woolson (1840-1894), who contributed to Henry James's conception of his heroine Isabelle Archer in The Portrait of a Lady, was one of the most accomplished American writers of the nineteenth century. Yet today the best-known facts of her life are her relationship with James and her probable suicide in Venice. Anne Boyd Rioux uncovered new sources in writing this biography that evokes Woolson's dramatic life and reaffirms her literary stature. A grand-niece of James Fenimore Cooper, Woolson was born in New Hampshire, but her family's ill fortunes drove them west to Cleveland. Raised to be a conventional woman, Woolson was thrust by her father's death into the role of breadwinner, and yet, as a writer, she reached for critical as much as monetary reward. Known for her realistic stories of post-Civil War American life, Woolson created portrayals of the rural Midwest, Reconstruction-era South, and formerly Spanish Florida. After her invalid mother's death, she moved to Europe, living mostly in England and Italy and spending several months in Egypt. While abroad, she wrote foreign-set stories that presage Edith Wharton's work of the next generation. In this biography, Rioux reveals an artist who pursued and received serious recognition despite the difficulties faced by female authors of her day." - Publisher description.

"Offers biographical information on over two-hundred-fifty notable Native Americans in fields such as politics, law, journalism, science, medicine, art, literature, athletics, education, and entertainment." - Publisher description.

Librarian's note: See "Gertrude Simmons Bonnin, 1876 - 1938," pp. 42-44, with short biography and extensive bibliography of secondary sources.

Librarian's note: "Bonnin, Gertrude (Gertrude Simmons, Zitkala-Sa, Red Bird)," pp. 62-63 with Further Reading.

"Red Bird, Red Power tells the story of one of the most influential - and controversial - American Indian activists of the twentieth century. Zitkala-Sa (1876-1938), also known as Gertrude Simmons Bonnin, was a highly gifted writer, editor, and musician who dedicated her life to achieving justice for Native peoples. Here, Tadeusz Lewandowski offers the first full-scale biography of the woman whose passionate commitment to improving the lives of her people propelled her to the forefront of Progressive-era reform movements." -- back cover.

Librarian's note: Vol. 1, pp. 451-473. Extensive biography and bibliography of poetry, letters, biographical studies, and critical studies.

Librarian note: Vol. 1, pp. 497-502. Biographical article on Emily Dickinson with bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

"Emily Dickinson's Poems: As She Preserved Them is a major new edition of Dickinson's verse intended for the scholar, student, and general reader. It foregrounds the copies of poems that Dickinson retained for herself during her lifetime, in the form she retained them. This is the only edition of Dickinson's complete poems to distinguish in easy visual form the approximately 1,100 poems she took pains to copy carefully onto folded sheets in fair hand--arguably to preserve them for posterity--from the poems she kept in rougher form or apparently did not retain. It is the first edition to include the alternate words and phrases Dickinson wrote on copies of the poems she retained. Readers can see, and determine for themselves, the extent to which a poem is resolved or fluid. A Dickinson scholar, Miller supplies helpful notes that gloss the poet's quotations and allusions and the contexts of her writing. Miller's Introduction describes Dickinson's practices in copying and circulating poems and summarizes contentious debates within Dickinson scholarship."--Provided by publisher.

"This literary biographical study offers a comprehensive account of Emily Dickinson's life, as a poet as well as a daughter of a prominent Amherst, Massachusetts, family. For many years accompanied by her large dog, she well knew the worlds of nature and natural beauties. For many more years, she chronicled her life -- especially her life of the imagination -- in hundreds of letters, as well as the nearly 1,800 poems that have been found. Such rich material informs this book's narrative, building a picture of a woman loyal to her parents and her myriad of friends, as well as siblings, niece and nephews, and her sister-in-law Susan Gilbert Dickinson, her constant muse. Never content with passive acceptance, or a life that conformed to the dutiful unmarried daughter's role, Dickinson the poet worked all her mature life to bring her art to its consistently firm -- and always brilliant -- greatness." - Publisher description

Librarian's note: Retrospective Supplement II, pp. 37-56. Extensive biography and bibliography of Elizabeth Bishop's poetry, collected prose, critical and biographical studies, contemporaneous reviews and interviews.

Librarian note: Vol. 1, pp. 156-162. Brief biographical article on Elizabeth Bishop with bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

"This collection of essays offers a comprehensive and original guide to Elizabeth Bishop's poetry and other writing, including literary criticism and prose fiction. It celebrates Bishop as an international writer with allegiances to various countries and national traditions, including but not limited to the countries she lived in and felt at home. In doing so, it explores how Bishop moves between literal geographies like Nova Scotia, New England, Key West and Brazil, but also more slippery categories like home and elsewhere, human and animal, insider and outsider." - Publisher description

Librarian Note: Cather, Willa - [1] 244-245 (main article)

Librarian's note: Vol. 1, pp. 312-334. Extensive biography and selected bibliography of Cather's works and critical and biographical studies.

Librarian note: Vol. 1, pp. 315-321. Brief biographical article on Willa Cather with bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

Librarian note: pp. 421-436. Long article with analysis of Le Guin's career and works, together with an extensive bibliography of Le Guin's fiction, nonfiction, children's books, short fiction, Le Guin bibliographies, and critical and biographical studies.

Librarian's Note: "Le Guin, Ursula K(Roeber)," pp. 702-705. Biographical article with analysis of works from across Le Guin's career, along with a bibliography of her works and lists of works about Le Guin and related articles.

Librarian note: Vol. 2, pp. 546-547, short article on Ursula K. LeGuin covering the early part of her career, which list of works and bibliography.

Librarian note: vol. 275, pp. 155-165, short biography of Ursula Le Guin with a list of her works up to 2003, anthologized works, along with an extensive list of interviews and references.

"A critical introduction to the life and work of the science fiction novelist Ursula K. Le Guin." - Publisher summary.

"Nostalgia and nature at the millennium: Ruth Ozeki's green culture of life."

"Inside the meat machine : food, filth, and (in)fertility in Ruth Ozeki's My year of meats"