Research Guides: FTS: Fast Food and Politics: Finding Articles

Tips for Finding Articles

Searching

To find articles, use the library-provided databases in the box to the right. Use search terms that match your topic but don't get stuck only using one or two terms. Also, be aware that the databases don't like phrases. Searching "covid" and "teacher burnout" in two separate search boxes will yield better results that typing "the effects of the Covid pandemic on teacher burnout." Use the Search Tips tab at the top of this guide for addition ideas about conducting research.

Sources

Pay attention to the kinds of sources you're finding in the databases. Different sources serve different purposes and audiences:

Newspapers are good for very specific news items or recent events.
Magazine articles reflect a popular approach to issues and are often short and simple in style.
Articles in academic journals report on research and are sometimes quite long and complex. Concentrate on the abstract (a one-paragraph summary that sometimes is at the beginning of the article), the introduction, and the last paragraphs.

Full Text

When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two and is FREE for you. Consult the Tracking Down Materials tab for more information.

Newspapers

Instead of searching newspapers on their websites, where you'll hit paywalls, use these databases. They have hundreds of local, national and international titles. Content is full text and updated daily.

Access World News (Newsbank)
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Finding Articles

To find articles, try these databases, which will connect you with all kinds of sources. You will probably find a lot of information (but sometimes you find no information!). Be persistent, try various search terms, and above all, ask for help if you're stuck. Send me an email with any questions or to set up a time to meet.

Academic Search Premier
This database contains information on just about any subject. It has academic articles as well as articles written for a general audience (nonscholarly sources). This is a great place to start. The database will tell you what kind of source you are reading, so be sure to pay attention to that information.
AGRICOLA
Citations and abstracts for agricultural publications from the 15th century to the present, including articles from over 600 periodicals, USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books. Subjects include animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Many records are linked to full-text documents online. A resource of the National Agricultural Library.
Business Source Premier
This business research database contains industry and company profiles, market research reports, and academic journals, magazine, and trade publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
ERIC
If you're exploring school lunches, try this database, which contains a wealth of information on topics related to education. If your topic does not involve K-12 or higher education, you can skip it.
Sage Premier
Sage contains a lot of scholarly articles in fields like sociology and political science; use it if your topic is exploring some of the social impacts of fast food.

Overviews

These databases can provide good overviews of topics - look for places where they provide summaries of various issues.

Congressional
Index to congressional publications from 1970 to the present, legislative histories for public laws, testimony at congressional hearings, and biographical and committee information. Also allows searching of the Congressional Record and Federal Register.
CQ Researcher Online
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, with coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview, a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
Points of View Reference Center
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database profiles over 250 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics are supported by the main essays, articles from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents (including videos) and reference sources. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).