ENG 336: American Renaissance (Fall 2021): Reference Collection

Librarian Note: The following index entries show where to find authors on the course syllabus. Volume number is in [brackets], followed by the page number.

• Emerson, Ralph Waldo - [1] 287-307 [2] 724, 933, 934, 935-936, 1042, 1059, 1079, 1080, 1081, 1086, 1091, 1095, 1107, 1108, 1109, 1117, 1118, 1119
• Thoreau, Henry David - [1] 127-128, 288, 487-488 [2] 672, 698, 701, 704, 708, 724, 901-902, 933-950, 1041, 1059, 1107, 1108, 1118-1119, 1129, 1158
• Dickinson, Emily [2] 1080, 1081-1803
• Bishop, Elizabeth - [2] 1090-1091
• Le Guin, Ursula K. - [2] 1024, 1041, 1054-1057

"This book presents more than 350 biographies of men and women who have devoted their lives to studying, debating, and organizing controversial environmental issues over the last 200 years. In addition to the scientists who have analyzed how human actions affect nature, we are introduced to poets, landscape architects, presidents, painters, activists, even sanitation engineers, and others who have forever altered how we think about the environment. The easy to use A-Z format provides instant access to these individuals, and frequent cross references indicate others with whom individuals worked (and sometimes clashed). End of entry references provide users with a starting point for further research." - Publisher description

"The field of environmental ethics is a new but now well-established sub-discipline of philosophy. Emerging in the mid-1970s, the field coalesced with the inaugural volume of the journal Environmental Ethics in 1979 and developed rapidly. By the turn of the century, most colleges and universities offered courses, if not major programs of study, in this important discipline. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy addresses the needs of upper high school students, undergraduate researchers, teachers and professors, as well as general readers by examining the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy joins the suite of other Macmillan applied ethics titles: Encyclopedia of Bioethics and the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index." - Publisher description

"Explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America, including major world religions and emerging sects, cults and movements." - Publisher description

"The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature is a landmark work in the burgeoning field of religion and nature. [...] The Encyclopedia critically explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life. This wide-ranging work, chronologically, geographically, and religiously, includes 1,000 entries from 520 international contributors. In addition to the standard, scholarly entry, this highly-accessible reference is creatively enriched through two unique, additional genres: scholarly perspectives articles wherein authors advance an argument or reflect on their own role in or views regarding the religion and nature field; and practitioner entries, which are written by well-known figures who have had an impact in the issues the encyclopedia engages." - Publisher description

"In nearly 700 entries, this set documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass, and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans." - Publisher description

"The history of the enslavement of African Americans in North America stretches from the beginning of European colonization and lasted until the end of the Civil War. Slavery in America recounts this history by examining, chapter by chapter, many of its aspects: the slave catchers and their coffles in Africa, the crowded slave ships that transported Africans along the triangular trade routes to America, slave auctions, life and labor on a plantation, escape attempts and insurrections, and finally the Civil War and eventual emancipation. The authors capture the complexities and the extent of slavery and document the wide differences in the ways people reacted to this terrible institution."--Jacket.

"This dictionary is the first comprehensive reference on Afro-American slavery to appear since the 1960s. It fills a great gap in the historiography of slavery that has been created by the proliferation of modern slavery studies in the past twenty-five years, and provides the opportunity for synthesizing the best literature on the many and diverse topics relating to the slavery experience in North America. Miller and Smith include essays on the social, institutional, intellectual, and political aspects of slavery, written by leading experts in the field. The book covers a wide selection of materials in almost 300 articles that examine regional and geographical differences and changes in slavery from the first English settlement in North America to Reconstruction. The contributors offer both narrative summaries and interpretive arguments, and the editors have provided an explanatory introduction and a comprehensive subject index. Special care has been taken to include suggestions for further reading for each entry, and the topics have been selected for their importance to both specialists and nonspecialists." - Publisher description

"This book includes hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on persons, places, events, institutions, battles, and campaigns of the Civil War. A detailed, 39-page chronology begins with the acceptance by Congress of the Missouri Compromise in 1820 and ends with the surrender of the Confederate ship Shenandoah in fall 1865. The introduction offers a concise overview of the subject, ending with a 3-page discussion of the legacy of the war. The 1,700 entries in the dictionary section include obvious inclusions, such as Gettysburg and Robert E. Lee, to those that are more obscure, such as the ill-fated Mud March and the Quaker guns." - Publisher description

Librarian's Note: See Volume 17, pp. 389 for a listing of women Abolitionists and what volume and page numbers to find them.

"Few realize that the origin of the discussion on women's rights emerged out of the anti-slavery movement of the 19th century, and that suffragists were active in the peace and labor movements long after the right to vote was granted. Thus began the confluence of activism in our country, where the rights of women both followed―and led―the social and political discourse in America. Through 4 volumes and more than 800 entries, editor Tiffany K. Wayne, with advising editor Lois Banner, examine the issues, people, and events of women's activism, from the early period of American history to the present time. This comprehensive reference not only traces the historical evolution of the movement, but also covers current issues affecting women, such as reproductive freedom, political participation, pay equity, violence against women, and gay civil rights." - Publisher description

Summary"Offering comprehensive coverage of women of a diverse range of cultures, classes, ethnicities, religions, and sexual identifications, this four-volume set identifies the many ways in which women have helped to shape and strengthen the United States."-- Publisher description

Librarian's Note: See Volume, pp.544-547 for a listing of Suffragists and what volume and page number to find them.

Librarian's Note: "Edgar Allan Poe, 1809-1849," v.3, 409-432. Biographical essay on Edgar Allan Poe, bibliography of his principal works, bibliographies of Poe criticism and critical and biographical studies.

Librarian's Note Critical and biographical essay focusing on Edgar Allan Poe's short fiction, along with a bibliography of Poe's letters, Poe bibliographies, biographies, and secondary sources about Edgar Allan Poe.

Librarian's Note: See entries for “The Masque of the Red Death,” "Ligeia," and "Ulalume" in Chapter CL, "Interpretations of Individual Works."

"For a century and a half Edgar Allan Poe has remained one of the most controversial and enigmatic figures in American literature. No other author has been subject to so much misconception; the "real Poe" has been all too dimly perceived, obscured by rumors and innuendoes about his alcoholism, ill-fated love affairs, and poverty. The Poe Log is the first complete and reliable chronicle of his tragic life and brilliant literary career. Extracting facts and clues from a fascinating array of documents, reminiscences, newspaper reports, legal records, and letters to, from, or about Poe, Messrs. Thomas and Jackson have created a vibrant reconstruction of Poe's personal and professional life. The resulting text is remarkable for both its detail and its clarity. The broad outlines of Poe biography were sketched over a century ago; The Poe Log provides the fine strokes and details that complete the unfinished picture, endowing it with depth, verisimilitude, and meaning." - From the Publisher

Librarian's Note: See the index under "The Masque of Red Death," "Ligeia," and "Ulalume."

Librarian's Note: "Harriet Prescott Spofford (3 April 1834-14 August 1921)," pp. 330-340. Very long bibliography of Harriet Prescott Spofford's primary texts, a detailed biographical essay, and a bibliography of secondary sources and where to locate the Prescott family letters.

Librarian's Note: "Harriet Prescott Spofford (1835-1921)," pp. 377-383. Detailed biographical essay, analysis of major works and themes, and a summary of critical reception of Harriet Prescott Spofford's works, along with a bibliography of Spofford's fiction and non-fiction and a bibliography of studies of Spofford's work.

Librarian's Note: "Harriet Elizabeth Prescott Spofford," v.4, pp. 144-147. Brief biographical essay, bibliography of Spofford's works, and secondary sources.

Librarian's Note: "Nathaniel Hawthorne (4 July 1804 - 19 May 1864)," v. 223, pp. 183-218. Most comprehensive, up-to-date article in DLB for Hawthorne. Includes a bibliography of his primary texts, a detailed biographical and critical essay, followed by bibliographical listings of his letters, bibliographies of Hawthorne, biographies, extensive secondary sources about Hawthorne, and where to access his papers.

Librarian's Note: Provides contemporary reviews of each of Hawthorne's books, giving insight to the reactions of reviewers at the time.

Librarian's Note: "Nathaniel Hawthorne," by Joel Myerson, pp. 328-336. Provides an overview of Hawthorne bibliographies, his writings (with an emphasis on his relations with the Transcendentalists), biographies (up to 1984), and a summary of critical studies on Hawthorne and the Transcendentalists up to 1984.

"A full­scale scholarly biography, beginning with the "contemporary portrait" and including notes and bibliography. Miller's aim is to carefully analyze Hawthorne's many different poses in life and in art."

"Nathaniel Hawthorne," Patricia Marks qtd. in Notable American Novelists. Salem Press, 2000.

"Reprints important published notices, descriptions, and recollections of Brook Farm by the press, participants, and visitors"--Introduction.

Librarian's Note: Bibliography of Longfellow's works, a detailed biographical essay, and extensive bibliographies of Longfellow's letters, bibliographies of Longfellow, biographies, and critical studies about Longfellow.

Librarian's Note: "Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, 1807-1882" v. 2, pp. 486-510. Contains a long biographical essay about Henry James as well as a bibliography of Longfellow's works, bibliographies of Longfellow, and critical and biographical studies of Longfellow up to 1974. Note: See the bibliography in Retrospective Supplement II, pp. 153-174 for more up-to-date scholarship (2003).

In 4 volumes.

A critical biography of Longfellow.

Librarian's note: Vol. 1, pp. 451-473. Extensive biography and bibliography of poetry, letters, biographical studies, and critical studies.

Librarian note: Vol. 1, pp. 497-502. Biographical article on Emily Dickinson with bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

Librarian's Note: Provides a bibliography of Dickinson criticism up to 1968.

Librarian's Note: "Emily Dickinson," by Paul Ferlazzo, pp. 320-327. Provides a summary of evidence of Emily Dickinson's Transcendentalist influences as well as criticism which analyzes these influences.

"Emily Dickinson's Poems: As She Preserved Them is a major new edition of Dickinson's verse intended for the scholar, student, and general reader. It foregrounds the copies of poems that Dickinson retained for herself during her lifetime, in the form she retained them. This is the only edition of Dickinson's complete poems to distinguish in easy visual form the approximately 1,100 poems she took pains to copy carefully onto folded sheets in fair hand--arguably to preserve them for posterity--from the poems she kept in rougher form or apparently did not retain. It is the first edition to include the alternate words and phrases Dickinson wrote on copies of the poems she retained. Readers can see, and determine for themselves, the extent to which a poem is resolved or fluid. A Dickinson scholar, Miller supplies helpful notes that gloss the poet's quotations and allusions and the contexts of her writing. Miller's Introduction describes Dickinson's practices in copying and circulating poems and summarizes contentious debates within Dickinson scholarship."--Provided by publisher.

"This literary biographical study offers a comprehensive account of Emily Dickinson's life, as a poet as well as a daughter of a prominent Amherst, Massachusetts, family. For many years accompanied by her large dog, she well knew the worlds of nature and natural beauties. For many more years, she chronicled her life -- especially her life of the imagination -- in hundreds of letters, as well as the nearly 1,800 poems that have been found. Such rich material informs this book's narrative, building a picture of a woman loyal to her parents and her myriad of friends, as well as siblings, niece and nephews, and her sister-in-law Susan Gilbert Dickinson, her constant muse. Never content with passive acceptance, or a life that conformed to the dutiful unmarried daughter's role, Dickinson the poet worked all her mature life to bring her art to its consistently firm -- and always brilliant -- greatness." - Publisher description

Librarian's Note: Bibliography of books and periodical publications by Elizabeth Stoddard, followed by a detailed biographical essay, and a list of secondary sources and location information for Elizabeth Stoddard's papers.

Librarian's Note: "Elizabeth Stoddard," Suppl. 15, pp. 269-291. Contains a very detailed biographical essay about Elizabeth Stoddard with literary analysis woven in, followed by bibliographies of Elizabeth Stoddard's works, her journals, correspondence, and manuscripts, and critical and biographical studies about Elizabeth Stoddard.

Librarian's Note: "Elizabeth Drew Barstow Stoddard (1823-1902)," pp 397-405. A brief biographical essay, analysis of major works and themes, and a summary of critical reception of Elizabeth Stoddard's works, along with a bibliography of Stoddard's fiction and non-fiction works and a bibliography of studies of her work work.

Memoirs of the author's husband, the poet Richard Henry Stoddard.

"Elizabeth Stoddard was a gifted writer of fiction, poetry, and journalism; successfully published within her own lifetime; esteemed by such writers as William Dean Howells and Nathaniel Hawthorne; and situated at the epicenter of New York’s literary world. Nonetheless, she has been almost excluded from literary memory and importance. This book seeks to understand why. By reconsidering Stoddard’s life and work and her current marginal status in the evolving canon of American literary studies, it raises important questions about women’s writing in the 19th century and canon formation in the 20th century." - Publisher description

Librarian's Note: "Frances E.W. Harper (1825-1911)," pp. 213-219. Biographical essay, analysis of major works and themes, and a summary of critical reception of Frances E.W. Harper's works, along with a bibliography of Spofford's fiction and non-fiction and a bibliography of studies of her work.

Librarian's Note: "Frances Ellen Watkins Harper (24 September 1825 - 22 February 1911)," v. 221. A bibliography of Frances E.W. Harper's books and periodical publications, followed by a detailed biographical essay and a list of secondary resources.

"Frances Ellen Watkins Harper (1825-1911) was the most important and the most popular black feminist abolitionist writer and activist of the nineteenth century. A Brighter Day Coming, the most comprehensive collection of her works, includes all the poems from Harper's extant original volumes, plus many that have never been collected and one that was discovered in manuscript; speeches; and a selection of prose, including excerpts from the novel Iola Leroy and the serialized novel Fancy Etchings, and a generous group of letters ..."--Back cover.

"Free Black woman, poet, novelist, essayist, speaker, and activist, Frances Watkins Harper was one of the nineteenth century’s most important advocates of Abolitionism and female suffrage, and her pioneering work still has profound lessons for us today. In this new book, Utz McKnight shows how Harper’s life and work inspired her contemporaries to imagine a better America. He seeks to recover her importance by examining not only her vision of the possibilities of Emancipation, but also her subsequent role in challenging Jim Crow. He argues that engaging with her ideas and writings is vital in understanding not only our historical inheritance, but also contemporary issues ranging from racial violence to the role of Christianity. This lucid book is essential reading not only for students of African American history, but also for all progressives interested in issues of race, politics, and society." - Publisher description

Librarian's Note: "Harriet E. Wilson (1827?-1863?)," pp. 484-489. Brief biographical essay, analysis of major works and themes, and a summary of critical reception of Harriet Wilson's works, along with a bibliography of fiction and non-fiction works and a bibliography of critical works about the author.

Librarian's Note: "Harriet E Wilson." Brief biographical article, analysis of major works and themes and the contemporaneous critical reception of Wilson's work, along with a bibliography of secondary sources.

Librarian's Note: "George Moses Horton (1797?-1883?)," v. 50, pp. 190-201. A brief bibliography of George Moses Horton's primary texts, a biographical essay, and a listing of one biography, secondary sources, and the location of Horton's manuscripts.

Librarian's Note:"George Moses Horton." Brief biographical article, analysis of major works and themes and the contemporaneous critical reception of Horton's work, along with a bibliograph of secondary sources.