Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
Books under Fire by
Call Number: Reference Z1019 .S325 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-22
Recommended Reference Works
Banned in the U.S.A.: A Reference Guide to Book Censorship in Schools and Public Libraries - Ref Z 658 .U5 F64 2002
This reference work presents a thorough analysis of the current state of book banning in schools and public libraries, offering ready reference material on major incidents, legal cases, and annotated entries on the most frequently challenged books.
Books under fire: a hit list of banned and challenged children's books - Ref Z1019 .S325 2021
This work spotlights dozens of titles that have been challenged since 2015 and that are written for young children through teens.
Censorship: A World Encyclopedia - Ref Z 675 .C45 2001
"Jones's encyclopedia provides useful description and analysis of censorship around the world and throughout history. Jones defines censorship broadly, devoting coverage to both covert pressures and overt, official restriction of expression. Entries treat such topics as censorship in particular countries, individual censors and targets of censorship, concepts and topics that have been censored, and censorship in particular media." (From the 6-1-02 Choice review). 4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media - Ref P 96.S5 E53 2012
This encyclopedia critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
Encyclopedia of Television - Ref PN1992.18 .E53 2004
Provides scholarly coverage of a popular medium, with articles on programs (primarily in the US and UK), people, genres, and overviews of the development of television in different countries. 4 volumes.
International Encyclopedia of Communication - Ref P87.5 .I58 2008
12 vols. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2008. A multidisciplinary compilation of essays on communication, ranging from human-computer interaction to art as a means of communication to communications theory. Each essay is followed by a bibliography of selected sources for further research.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License