ENG 344: Women Write the Atlantic World: Reference Collection & Primary Sources

• Women in World History : a biographical encyclopedia by Anne Commire (Editor); Deborah Klezmer (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference HQ1115 .W6 1999 v.1-v.17

  ISBN: 9780787637361

  Publication Date: 1999-10-08

  "With more than 10,000 biographical entries, this is the most comprehensive women's history encyclopedia available. This ambitious work profiles women throughout time and throughout the world. More than 2,500 signed articles written by academics, up to 5,000 words in length, highlight a particular woman's personal background and significance in history. Shorter entries spotlight historically important women who are less frequently researched or for whom less information is available. [...] This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: rulers, royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, entrepreneurs, philanthropists, investors, authors and more. Coverage includes many women for whom profiles are not included in traditional sources."
  
  Librarian Note: The following index entries show where to find authors on the course syllabus. Volume number is in [brackets], followed by the page number. The number in bold is the main article about that author.
  

  • Seymour, Francis Thynne (1699-1754) - [12] 482; [13] 534; [14] 168
  • Wheatley, Phillis (c. 1752-1784) - [3] 553; [7] 157; [8] 303; [12] 640; [12] 815; [13] 500; [15] 115, 304, 441; [16] 418-423
  • More, Hannah (1745-1833) [3] 447; [3] 740; [9] 376; [11] 304, 399-403; [12] 721; [15] 845; [16] 168; [17] 29
  • Sansay, Leonora (1773-1821) - Not listed.
  • Prince, Mary (c. 1788-after 1833) - [11] 362; [12] 816-817
  • Seacole, Mary Jane (c. 1805-1881) [14] 62-64
  • Cassin, Frieda - Not listed.
  • Hopkins, Pauline E. (1859-1930) - [7] 465; [15] 230
• Defining Documents in World History: Women's Rights, 1429-2017 by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference HQ1236 .W65267 2018 v.1-2 or View eBook

  ISBN: 9781682175835

  Publication Date: 2018-01-26

  "These volumes provide in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents from influential figures in women's history from the United States and around the world. The set provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Mary Wollstonecraft: A Vindication of the Rights of Woman; Jane Addams: Why Women Should Vote; The Declaration of the Rights of Woman and of the Female Citizen; Nineteenth Amendment; and Shirley Chisholm: The Black Woman in Contemporary America. From the European calls for the rights of women to the modern feminist movement, these volumes provide thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of the roles, opinions, and changing attitudes of and toward women in world history."--Publisher information.
• The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies, 5 Volume Set by Renee C. Hoogland (Associate Editor); Maithree Wickramasinghe (Associate Editor); Wai Ching Angela Wong (Associate Editor); Nancy Naples (Editor-In-Chief)

  Call Number: Reference HQ1180 .W55 2016

  ISBN: 9781405196949

  Publication Date: 2016-05-09

  "Provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields"-- Provided by publisher.
  
  Librarian's note: See "Feminism, Eighteenth Century Britain," vol. 1, pp. 642-647; "History of Women's Rights in International and Comparative Perspective," vol. 3, pp. 1289-1306, with references.
• Women in American History : a social, political, and cultural encyclopedia and document collection by Peg A. Lamphier (Editor); Rosanne Marie Welch (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference HQ1410 .W6468 2017 v.1-4

  ISBN: 9781610696029

  Publication Date: 2017-01-23

  "Offering comprehensive coverage of women of a diverse range of cultures, classes, ethnicities, religions, and sexual identifications, this four-volume set identifies the many ways in which women have helped to shape and strengthen the United States." - Publisher description
  
  Librarian's note: Volumes contain many documents related to women's rights in the United States. Volumes 1 and 2 focus on colonial America, the early republic, and the nineteenth century.

• Historical Dictionary of Slavery and Abolition by Martin A. Klein

  Call Number: Reference HT861 .K54 2002 or View eBook

  ISBN: 9780810875289

  Publication Date: 2002; 2014

  "For almost four thousand years, men and women with power have exploited vulnerable populations for cheap or free labor. These slaves, serfs, helots, tenants, peons, bonded or forced laborers, etc., built pyramids and temples, dug canals and mined the earth for precious metals and gemstones. They built the palaces and mansions in which the powerful lived, grown the food they ate, spun the cloth that clothed them. Over 500 cross-referenced entries on forms of slavery, famous slaves and abolitionists, sources of slaves, and current conditions of modern slavery around the world." - Publisher description
• Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery by Paul Finkelman, Joseph C. Miller

  Call Number: Reference HT861 .M24 1998 v.1-2

  ISBN: 9780028646077

  Publication Date: 1998-09-01

  "Covering the history of human slavery in Asia, Europe, Africa, the Americas, and the United States, this volume has entries for individuals and such topics as the details of living conditions, resistance and rebellion, law and emancipation, and theory and politics." - Publisher description
• The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery by Junius P. Rodriguez

  Call Number: Reference HT861 .H57 1997 v.1-2

  ISBN: 9780874368857

  Publication Date: 1997-12-01

  "Collects the work of more than 200 experts. Has more than 650 entries which examine and analyze human bondage in all its forms throughout the ages. Offers a historical overview of the subject and identifies the common threads that run through the slave systems of fundamentally different cultures." - Publisher description

• Beyond Slavery and Abolition : Black British writing, c.1770-1830 by Ryan Hanley

  Call Number: PR120.B55 H36 2019

  ISBN: 9781108475655

  Publication Date: 2018-11-08

  "As the first historical study of pre-abolition black British writing, this book challenges the established narratives of modern British history that focus almost exclusively on slavery and abolition. Ryan Hanley expands our perspectives to encompass the often neglected but important black writers of the time, and highlights their contribution to politics, culture, and the arts. He considers the lives and works of contemporary black literary celebrities alongside largely forgotten evangelical authors and political radicals to uncover how they came to produce such diverse and powerful work. By navigating the social, religious, political and professional networks that surrounded these authors and their writing, he also reveals that black intellectuals were never confined to the peripheries of British culture. From the decks of Royal Navy ships to the drawing rooms of country houses, from the pub to the pulpit, black writers, and the work they produced, helped to build modern Britain."
  
  Librarian's note: Includes "Mary Prince and the infamy of victimhood, 1828-1833."
• Transatlantic Feminisms in the Age of Revolutions by Joanna Brooks (Editor); Lisa L. Moore (Editor); Caroline Wigginton (Editor)

  Call Number: Ask Staff

  ISBN: 9780199743483

  Publication Date: 2012-04-19

  "This volume brings together an unprecedented gathering of women and men from the Atlantic World during the Age of Revolutions. Featuring hard-to-find writings from colonists and colonized, citizens and slaves, religious visionaries and scandal-dogged actresses, these wide-ranging selections present a panorama of the diverse, vibrant world facing women during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. This collection recovers the revolutionary moment in which women stepped into a globalizing world and imagined themselves free." - Publisher description
• Contrary Voices : representations of West Indian slavery, 1657-1834 by Karina Williamson (Editor)

  Call Number: Ask Staff

  ISBN: 9789766402082

  Publication Date: 2008-07-17

  "Highlights variations in representations of West Indian slavery by drawing on a range of testimonies, especially those of the enslaved themselves. This work focuses on representations based principally on first-hand experience or observation of slavery in the then British West Indies." - Publisher description

• The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature by Claire Buck (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference PN471 .B57 1992

  ISBN: 9780747519539

  Publication Date: 1992-10-01

  Librarian Note: P. 1011, "Seymour, Frances, Countess of Hertford (1669-1754)"
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference DA28 .O95 2004 v. 1-160

  ISBN: 9780198614111

  Publication Date: 2004-09-23

  Librarian note: Vol. 46, p. 881, "Seymour [née Thynne], Frances, duchess of Somerset (1699–1754)" by James Sambrook. With extensive references.

• Correspondence between Frances, countess of Hartford, (afterwards duchess of Somerset,) and Henrietta Louisa, countess of Pomfret, between the years 1738 and 1741

  London : R. Phillips, 1805.
• Select letters between the late Duchess of Somerset [...] and others

  London, Printed for J. Dodsley, 1778.

Librarian's note: Find more about this recently rediscovered novel in journal articles you can find by searching "unca eliza winkfield" in Google Scholar.

• The Female American; or, The adventures of Unca Eliza Winkfield by Unca Eliza Winkfield; Michelle Burnham (Editor); James Freitas (Editor)

  Call Number: PS875.W74 F45 2014

  ISBN: 9781554810963

  Publication Date: 2014-09-30

  "When it first appeared in 1767, this novel was called a "sort of second Robinson Crusoe; full of wonders." Indeed, The Female American is an adventure novel about an English protagonist shipwrecked on a deserted isle, where survival requires both individual ingenuity and careful negotiations with visiting local Indians. But what most distinguishes Winkfield's novel is her protagonist, a woman who is of mixed race. Though the era's popular novels typically featured women in the confining contexts of the home and the bourgeois marriage market, Winkfield's novel portrays an autonomous and mobile heroine living alone in the wilds of the New World, independently interacting with both Native Americans and visiting Europeans. The Female American is also one of the earliest novelistic efforts to articulate an American identity. This second edition has been updated throughout and includes a greatly expanded selection of historical materials on castaway narratives and on the cultural context of colonial America." - from the publisher
• The Emergence of the American Frontier Hero 1682-1826 by Denise Mary MacNeil

  Call Number: Request Through Interlibrary Loan

  ISBN: 9780230621503

  Publication Date: 2010-01-13

  "The study follows the early evolution of the American frontier hero, from its roots in Mary Rowlandson's narration of her experiences as a prisoner during King Phillip's war through works by Unca Eliza Winkfield, Charles Brockden Brown, James Fenimore Cooper, the film-maker John Ford, and actor John Wayne." - from the publisher

• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference DA28 .O95 2004 v. 1-160

  ISBN: 9780198614111

  Publication Date: 2004-09-23

  Librarian note: Vol. 39, pp. 39-46. Very fulsome biography and extensive list of primary and secondary sources.
• Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe by Katharina M. Wilson (Editor); Paul Schlueter (Editor); June Schlueter (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference PN471 .W565 1997

  ISBN: 9780815323433

  Publication Date: 1997-03-01

  Librarian note: pp. 317-319. Brief biography with extensive publication history of Hannah More.

• The life of Hannah More: with notices of her sisters. By Henry Thompson.

  London, T. Cadell; [etc., etc.] 1838.
• Numerous other works by Hannah More are available online.

• Gale DLB 200: American Women Prose Writers to 1820 by Matthew J. Bruccoli (Editor); Richard Layman (Editor); Amy E. Winans (Contribution by)

  Call Number: Reference PS221 .A5 v.200

  ISBN: 9780787618551

  Publication Date: 1998-11-03

  Librarian note: pp. 330-336. Contains a detailed article on Leonora Sansay, summary of her works and publication history, and references to secondary and primary sources including correspondence with Aaron Burr.
• Secret history, or, The horrors of St. Domingo ; and, Laura by Leonora Sansay 1781-, Michael J Drexler (editor)

  Call Number: PS2769 .S43 2007

  ISBN: 9781551113463

  Publication Date: Peterborough, Ont. ; Orchard Park, NY : Broadview, ©2007.

  "Based on Leonora Sansay's eyewitness accounts of the final days of French rule in Saint Domingue (Haiti), Secret History is a vivid account of race warfare and domestic violence. Sansay's writing provocatively draws comparisons between Saint Domingue during the Haitian Revolution and the postrevolutionary United States, while fluidly combining qualities of the eighteenth-century epistolary novel, colonial travel writing, and political analysis. Laura, Sansay's second novel, features as its protagonist a beautiful impoverished orphan who throws herself headlong into a secret marriage with a young medical student. When her husband dies in a duel in an effort to protect his wife's reputation, Laura finds herself once more alone in the world. The republication of these works will contribute to a significant revision of thinking about early American literary history." "This Broadview edition offers a rich selection of contextual materials, including selections from periodical literature about Haiti, engravings, letters written by Sansay to her friend Aaron Burr, historical material related to the Burr trial for treason, and excerpts from literature referenced in the novels."--Jacket.

• African American Authors, 1745-1945 : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook by Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference PS153.N5 A32 2000 or View eBook

  ISBN: 9780313309106

  Publication Date: 2000-01-30

  Librarian note: pp. 357-365. Contains extensive article about Mary Prince along with a history of critical reception of her work and a section of secondary sources.
• The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature by Claire Buck (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference PN471 .B57 1992

  ISBN: 9780747519539

  Publication Date: 1992-10-01

  Librarian Note: p. 932, "Prince, Mary (c. 1788-?)." Very brief biographical entry. Refers to outcry from publication of The History of Mary Prince by the Anti-Slavery Society in 1831, which may perhaps be found in historical newspapers.
• The History of Mary Prince, a West Indian Slave, Related by Herself by Moira Ferguson (Editor); Ziggi Alexander (Preface by)

  Call Number: On Order

  ISBN: 9780472082469

  Publication Date: 1993-08-01

  "Mary Prince was the first black British woman to escape from slavery and publish a record of her experiences. In this unique document, Mary Prince vividly recalls her life as a slave in Bermuda, Turks Island, Antigua, and England, her rebellion against physical and psychological degradation, and her eventual escape in London in 1828." "In this revised and expanded edition of The History of Mary Prince, Moira Ferguson has added new material based on extensive research in Bermuda and London. The book contains a new introduction and nine new appendixes, including details of Mary Prince's experiences as a freewoman in England, and excerpts from prominent British periodicals of the day, reflecting the reactions against the original publication of The History of Mary Prince."--Jacket

• Gale DLB 166: British Travel Writers, 1837-1875 by Barbara Brothers (Editor); Julia Gergits (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference PS221 .A5 v.166

  ISBN: 9780810393615

  Publication Date: 1996-07-12

  Librarian note: vol. 166, pp. 311-314, "Mary Jane Grant Seacole," an article with references.
• Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference DA28 .O95 2004 v. 1-160

  ISBN: 9780198614111

  Publication Date: 2004-09-23

  Librarian note: vol. 49, pp. 57-58, "Seacole [née Grant], Mary Jane (1805–1881), nurse." Biographical article with list of primary sources and likenesses of Mary Seacole.
• African American Authors, 1745-1945 by Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)

  Call Number: Reference PS153.N5 A32 2000 or View eBook

  ISBN: 9780313309106

  Publication Date: 2000-01-30

  Librarian note: p. 371. Contains an article for Mary Seacole along a brief history of critical reception of her work and a section of secondary sources.
• Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing by Mary Ellen Snodgrass

  Call Number: Reference RT31 .S66 1999

  ISBN: 9781576070864

  Publication Date: 1999-10-25

  Librarian note: pp. 235-237. Contains an article providing biographical details on Mary Seacole and a list of references.
• Wonderful Adventures of Mrs Seacole in Many Lands by Mary Seacole; Sara Salih (Introduction by, Notes by)

  Call Number: DK215 .S433 2005

  ISBN: 9780140439021

  Publication Date: 2005-11-29

  "The autobiography of a Jamaican woman whose fame rivalled Florence Nightingale's during the Crimean war"--Cover.

• Notice of Frieda Cassin in Massey's Magazine (1894)
• Librarian note: An elusive author.