Research Guides: PHI 244: Philosophy and Trauma: Perspectives on Trauma

Selected Articles

Ainslie, Ricardo C. “Intervention Strategies for Addressing Collective Trauma: Healing Communities Ravaged by Racial Strife.” Psychoanalysis, Culture & Society, vol. 18, no. 2, June 2013, pp. 140–52.
Alexander, Jeffrey C. “Civil Sphere and Transitions to Peace: Cultural Trauma and Civil Repair.” International Journal of Politics, Culture & Society, May 2022, pp. 85–93.
Andreescu, Florentina C. “A Meditation on Covid-19 Social Trauma.” Journal for Cultural Research, vol. 25, no. 2, June 2021, pp. 220–35.
Ataria, Yochai. "Dissociation during trauma: The ownership-agency tradeoff model." Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences 14 (2015): 1037-1053.
Atkinson-Phillips, Alison. “On Being Moved: Art, Affect and Activation in Public Commemorations of Trauma.” Continuum: Journal of Media & Cultural Studies, vol. 32, no. 3, June 2018, pp. 381–92.
Fukuchi, Naru, and Eugen Koh. “Children’s Survivor Guilt after the Great East Japan Earthquake and Tsunami: A Case Report.” Educational Psychology in Practice, vol. 38, no. 2, June 2022, pp. 115–24.
Godon-Decoteau, Danielle, and Patricia G. Ramsey. “Positive and Negative Aspects of Transracial Adoption: An Exploratory Study From Korean Transracial Adoptees’ Perspectives.” Adoption Quarterly, vol. 21, no. 1, Jan. 2018, pp. 17–40.
Harb, Gerlinde C., and Jon-Håkon Schultz. “The Nature of Posttraumatic Nightmares and School Functioning in War-Affected Youth.” PLoS ONE, vol. 15, no. 11, Nov. 2020.
Hawkins, Deion S. “‘After Philando, I Had to Take a Sick Day to Recover’: Psychological Distress, Trauma and Police Brutality in the Black Community.” Health Communication, vol. 37, no. 9, Aug. 2022, pp. 1113–22.
Hess, Juliet, and Deborah Bradley. “Dewey’s Theory of Experience, Traumatic Memory, and Music Education.” Studies in Philosophy & Education, vol. 39, no. 4, July 2020, pp. 429–46.
Holman, E.Alison, et al. “Distortions in Time Perception during Collective Trauma: Insights from a National Longitudinal Study during the COVID-19 Pandemic.” Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy, Aug. 2022.
Lavazza, Andrea. “Erasing Traumatic Memories: When Context and Social Interests Can Outweigh Personal Autonomy.” Philosophy, Ethics & Humanities in Medicine, vol. 10, no. 1, Feb. 2015, pp. 1–7.
Miller, Seumas. “Moral Injury, Moral Identity, and ‘Dirty Hands’ in War Fighting and Police Work.” Journal of Medicine & Philosophy, vol. 47, no. 6, Dec. 2022, pp. 723–34.
Moffat, Kirstine, and Melody May. “‘Death from All Sides’: Spectacle, Morality, and Trauma in Suzanne Collins’ the Hunger Games Trilogy.” Mortality, vol. 26, no. 4, Nov. 2021, pp. 439–55.
Mondolfi Miguel, Maria L., and Margarita Pino-Juste. “Therapeutic Achievements of a Program Based on Drama Therapy, the Theater of the Oppressed, and Psychodrama With Women Victims of Intimate Partner Violence.” Violence Against Women, vol. 27, no. 9, July 2021, pp. 1273–96.
Suitt, Thomas Howard. “Finding Resonance Amid Trauma: Moral Injury and the Role of Religion Among Christian Post-9/11 U.S. Veterans.” Sociology of Religion, vol. 82, no. 2, Summer 2021, pp. 179–207.

Also see the special issue of Public Philosophy Journal (vol. 2, no. 2, Fall 2019), which contains essays first presented at the Philosophical Engagements with Trauma conference at the University of North Carolina: Asheville.

Selected Books

After Genocide: Memory and Reconciliation in Rwanda by Nicole Fox
Call Number: General Collection DT450.44 .F69 2021
Aftermath: Violence and the Remaking of a Self by Susan J. Brison
Call Number: General Collection HV6558 .B75 2002
Assimilation, Resilience, and Survival: A History of the Stewart Indian School, 1890-2020 by Samantha M. Williams
Call Number: General Collection E97.6.C24 W55 2022
The Belated Witness: Literature, Testimony, and the Question of Holocaust Survival by Michael G. Levine
Call Number: General Collection PN56.H55 L49 2006
Critical Trauma Studies: Understanding Violence, Conflict, and Memory in Everyday Life by Monica Casper (Editor); Eric Wertheimer (Editor, Editor)
Call Number: General Collection BF175.5.P75 C75 2016
Desperately Seeking Asylum: Testimonies of Trauma, Courage, and Love by Helen T. Boursier
Call Number: General Collection HV640.5.C46 B68 2019
Keepers of Memory: The Holocaust and Transgenerational Identity by Jennifer Rich
Call Number: General Collection D804.348 .R53 2020
The Long Defeat: Cultural Trauma, Memory, and Identity in Japan by Akiko Hashimoto
Call Number: General Collection D744.7.J3 H37 2015
Memory and Complicity: Migrations of Holocaust Remembrance by Debarati Sanyal
Call Number: General Collection D804.348 .S23 2015
Philosophical Reflections on Mothering in Trauma by Melissa Burchard
Call Number: General Collection RA645.T73 B87 2018
Stringing Rosaries: The History, the Unforgivable, and the Healing of Northern Plains American Indian Boarding School Survivors
Call Number: General Collection E97.5 .L35 2019
Trauma and Literature by J. Roger Kurtz (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection RC552.W74 T73 2018
Trauma and Repair: Confronting Segregation and Violence in America by Annie Stopford; William Julius Wilson (Foreword by)
Call Number: General Collection BF175.5.P75 S76 2020
Trauma and the Memory of Politics by Jenny Edkins
Call Number: General Collection BF175.5.P75 E34 2003
Trauma and the Rehabilitation of Trafficked Women: The Experiences of Yazidi Survivors by S. Behnaz Hosseini
Call Number: General Collection HQ281 .H67 2020
What My Bones Know: A Memoir of Healing from Complex Trauma by Stephanie Foo
Call Number: On order
The Women of Katrina: How Gender, Race, and Class Matter in an American Disaster by Emmanuel David (Editor); Elaine Enarson (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection HV636 2005.G85 W66 2012