LibGuides: PHI 244: Philosophy and Trauma: Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.

Tracking Down Journal Articles

Here are some of the main ways to access journal articles, depending on your starting point.

If you have a journal citation, like from a bibliography:

Click the Do We Have This Journal link on the library's homepage.
Type the title of the journal into the search box.
The search will direct you to the source if we have it in print or online.
- You will either be given a link to be taken into a database that has the full text and/or you will be told we have it in print (lower level).
If we do not have the journal, use this form to create an ILL request. Fill out all of the fields marked with an asterisk (*). If you're not already logged in, you will be prompted to log in.
- If the link to the form doesn't work, you can access it by going to My Library Account, which you can find by first clicking Page Menu on the far left side of the library's homepage OR linked beneath the search box on the library's main page. Log in with your Gustavus user name & password. Click on "Requests" and then click on the blue "Create Request" box.

If you are searching for articles through a database or want to browse articles in print:

Google Scholar - If you search Google Scholar (scholar.google.com) from on campus, you'll see a "find it at Gustavus" link that will take you to the full text of the article (or tell you if we have it in print). If you end up on a publisher's website & they are asking you to pay for access, stop! Never pay for an article. Chances are, we can get it for you from another library.

Requesting Articles Through a Database - Look for the FindIt! button, which will search to see if we have it full text in another database or in print downstairs. If we don't have the article, you'll see the option to request it from another library.

Print Articles in the Basement - We have a collection of articles in print in the lower level. Sometimes the FindIt! button or the Journals List will tell you that your article is available in print. These are on the lower level of the library and are alphabetized by title of journal. Use the year and/or volume number in your citation to retrieve your article.

Selected Subject Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Plus This link opens in a new window
The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Includes more than 600 full text journals. Note: To access the full text of book chapters (essays) that appear in your search results, you may also want to check the book catalog to see if we have the book in print.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is an index of philosophy books and articles. It also offers an open access archive and discussion forums.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than 200 educational reports. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and chapters.

PHI 244: Philosophy and Trauma: Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Tracking Down Journal Articles

Selected Subject Databases