Research Guides: Meditation Resources: Scientific Approaches

Meditation and Scientific Studies

The past few decades have seen an explosion in growth in the study of meditation, in particular in the field of neuroscience. Rather than linking to specific articles, the information on this page points to resources you can explore to find studies. You’ll also find resources to connect you to studies about meditation and athletics, as well as meditation and education.

If you have any questions about researching or access materials, don’t hesitate to contact a librarian.

Research Databases

PsycINFO

Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and chapters.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers all aspects of sport and fitness. Contains bibliographic references to international practical and research literature in sport, physical fitness, active living, and physical education. Contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. Provides full text for more than 440 journals. NOTE: Access is limited to four simultaneous users.
ERIC

Major index to literature in education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, and research reports. ERIC citations date from 1966 to the present, and full text is available for many research reports.

Resources

Center for Healthy Minds
Located at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the mission of the Center is, “Cultivate well-being and relieve suffering through a scientific understanding of the mind.”
The Clinical and Affective Neuroscience Laboratory
The CLANlab studies contemplative, affective, and clinical neuroscience. Co-directed by neuroscientist and clinical psychologist Willoughby Britton, Ph.D., and religious studies scholar Jared Lindahl, Ph.D., the lab researches the effects of contemplative practices on cognitive, emotional, and neurophysiological processes in both clinical and non-clinical settings.
Ear E. Bakken Center for Spirituality & Healing
Located at the University of Minnesota, the mission of the Center: “ Advance whole health and wellbeing by providing interprofessional education, conducting research, advancing integrative models of care, and delivering innovative community engagement programs.”
Lazar Lab for Meditation Research
The Lazar Lab for Meditation Research at Massachusetts General Hospital studies the impact of yoga and meditation on cognitive and behavioral functions using scientifically validated brain imaging technologies.