LibGuides: GEO 382: Structural Geology: Finding Articles

Article Databases for Structural Geology Research

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Science This link opens in a new window
Covers significant developments in earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
GeoRefS This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. It is international in scope, and citations date from 1785 to the present.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
GSW provides access to the full text of more than 50 journals and over 2,000 ebooks in the earth sciences. The default search includes both GSW journals and the GeoRef index. To limit your search to GSW full text journals only, select "All GSW journals" on the Quick Search or Advanced Search menu.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.

Journals for Structural Geology Research

Accessing the full articles: GeoRef will provide links to the full text of journals that are included in GeoScienceWorld (GSW). You may need to use the “Find It” link to request the full text from other journals. Questions? Ask a librarian!

Earth & Planetary Science Letters
Geological Journal
Geological Society of America Bulletin*
Geology*
Journal of Geology*
Journal of Structural Geology
Lithosphere*
Solid Earth
Structural Geology & Tectonics
Tectonophysics

*Denotes full text is included in GeoScienceWorld.

Tracking Down Journal Articles

If you have a journal citation from a bibliography or other source list:

Click the Do We Have This Journal link on the library's homepage.
Type the title of the journal (not the article) into the search box.
The search will direct you to the source if we have it in print or online.
- You will either be given a link to a database with the full text or you will be told we have it in print (lower level).
If we do not have the full text of the journal, use this form to create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request. This is free to you. Fill out all of the fields marked with an asterisk (*).
- If the link to the form doesn't work, you can access it by going to My Library Account, which is linked beneath the search box on the library's main page. Log in with your Gustavus user name & password. Click on "Requests" and then click on the blue "Create Request" box.

If you are searching for articles in a database and it's not full text:

Google Scholar - If you search Google Scholar on campus, you'll see a "find it at Gustavus" link that will take you to the full text of the article (or tell you if we have it in print). If you end up on a publisher's website & they are asking you to pay for access, stop! Never pay for an article. Use the info above to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting Articles in a Database - Look for the FindIt! button, which will search to see if we have it full text in another database or in print downstairs. If we don't have the article, you'll see the option to request it from another library.

Print Articles in the Basement - Sometimes the FindIt! button or the Journals List will tell you that your article is available in print. These are on the lower level of the library and are alphabetized by title of journal. Use the year and/or volume number in your citation to retrieve your article.