ART 298: Zines for Sustainability: Reference Works

This expansive encyclopedia breaks new ground, giving definition and focus to an urgent and much-talked-about topic that is extraordinarily wide ranging and all too often misunderstood. As the first major reference work in its field, the three comprehensive volumes span the entire scope of sustainability from ecological concepts to financial concerns to public policy and community action, giving readers a solid foundation from which to think critically about efforts to make a more sustainable world. The Encyclopedia of Sustainability comprises three volumes, each dedicated to one of three equally important contexts in which the term is used: environment and ecology, business and economics, and equity and fairness.

Concise coverage of environmental issues and scientific concepts. Includes organizations, people, places, economic and political issues, popular and scientific terminology. Includes illustrations and tables.

Includes concise articles on environmental problems, the impact of business and social institutions on the natural environment, governmental involvement, legislation, etc.

Includes articles on events, issues, individuals and organizations.

Covers major topics and emerging issues in the field, highlighting issues of particular contemporary significance.

The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The five volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather, they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues. (google books)

Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.

More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index. (Google)

This encyclopedia focuses on the interaction of human and natural forces and the effect on global change. Its interdisciplinary approach embraces the fields of atmospheric science, biology, economics, ethics, geography, and political science.

Begins with eight broad thematic essays, which highlight the major issues and topics in environmental history and serve as an entryway to other, more specific articles throughout the reference. Arranged alphabetically, more than 750 articles cover every significant issue, event, law, and figure in U.S. environmental history. --from publisher description

Chronologically arranged articles on major events and developments for environmental issues and ecology, 1902-1994. Each event is summarized, analyzed, and cross-referenced to other events.

Covers topics, events, people, natural resources, and aspects of human interaction with the environment worldwide. Provides historical surveys of environmental issues such as deforestation and extinction. Also offers regional and national overviews as well as essays on subfields such as environmental philosophy.

Annotated bibliography of books, articles, reports and conferences related to environmental topics in America, specifically nature writing and environmental history.

Offers lengthy biocritical sketches on writers from Edward Abbey to Ann Zwinger. The second volume also contains essays on topics such as African American nature writing, nature poetry, and the literature of mountaineering. Lengthy selective bibliographies are included.

"This encyclopedia introduces readers to American poetry, fiction and nonfiction with a focus on the environment (defined as humanity's natural surroundings), from the discovery of America through the present. The work includes biographical and literary entries on material from early explorers and colonists; through Native American creation myths; canonical 18th- and 19th-century works; to more recent figures"--Provided by publisher.

This book contains 500 brief entries, with bibliographies, covering issues of ecology, pollution and sustainability.

Describes over 700 animals and plants currently threatened with extinction. Arranged taxonomically; an index provides common and scientific name access. For each species the status, description and biology, habitat and current distribution, and history and conservation measures are described. Includes indexes by geographic location and a list of wildlife and conservation organizations.

Includes in-depth, scholarly articles on topics such as from agriculture, conservation, economic aspects of biodiversity, microbial biodiversity, public policy, and systematics.

Covers thousands of terms in habitat management, molecular ecology, and conservation, as well as identifying important biologists in the field.

Alphabetically arranged articles are classified into 20 broad categories, listed in "Contents by Subject Area." Subjects range from the core disciplines of biodiversity (evolution, species biodiversity, habitats and ecosystems, extinctions) to environmental conditions to human effects and interventions.

This work addresses the remarkable growth in concern at all levels for living things, the environment, and increased appreciation of the links between the state of ecosystems and the state of humankind. Building on a wealth of research and analysis by the conservation community worldwide, this book provides a comprehensive and accessible view of key global issues in biodiversity. It outlines some of the broad ecological relationships between humans and the rest of the material world and summarizes information on the health of the planet. (amazon)

A book series which covers major ecosystems such as tropical rainforests, presenting research articles on many aspects of each ecosystem covered. Each article is written by an expert in the field and most include diagrams, photos, and lengthy bibliographies. Though the volumes are shelved in different areas, they can all be searched by the series title: "Ecosystems of the World."

Each volume covers general forest issues in the region followed by an analysis of these issues in individual countries.

This work explores the interaction between the federal government and environmental politics and policy throughout the nation's history. Entries cover the full range of issues, events, laws, institutions, and key players that shape federal environmental policies, incorporating viewpoints from across the ideological spectrum. (google books)

The 4th edition of this popular reference provides definitions for more than 5,000 terms of the Environmental Protection Agency's Code of Federal Regulations. This volume helps readers better understand these complex compliance regulations.

Gives a topical overview of state and federal laws regulating the environment in Minnesota, and their application.

This volume provides a thorough investigation of a controversial topic: our current global energy situation, and what actions should be taken to prevent a crippling fuel-supply catastrophe in the future. The book presents a historical background for current energy problems that discusses the supply and consumption of various forms of energy at different periods of history, covering the evolution of energy use in civilization beginning with human muscle power, the successive eras of mechanized industry and transportation, and our current dependence on fossil fuels. (google books)

Covers major technologies associated with energy production and use as well as historical, political, ethical, and social aspects of the subject. Short, accessible articles.

Provides lengthy articles on the technologies used to produce energy and their effects on the environment, with extensive tables, graphs and diagrams. Most article, written by experts in the field, are followed by extensive bibliographies.

Includes lengthy, authored articles with extensive bibliographies on topics of energy production and use and their environmental effects. Also includes information on related legal and policy issues.

"In the 21st century, nuclear power has been identified as a viable alternative to traditional energy sources to stem global climate change, and condemned as risky to human health and environmentally irresponsible. Do the advantages of nuclear energy outweigh the risks, especially in light of the meltdown at the Fukushima plant in 2011? This guide provides both a comprehensive overview of this critical and controversial technology, presenting reference tools that include important facts and statistics, biographical profiles, a chronology, and a glossary. It covers major controversies and proposed solutions in detail and contains contributions by experts and important stakeholders that provide invaluable perspective on the topic." -- Publisher's description.

A compilation of statistics and analysis of major trends in food production, energy, atmosphere, the economy, the military, and social factors such as population growth, epidemics, and refugees. Sponsored by the Worldwatch Institute.

An annual report on the global condition of the environment, offering an excellent overview of environmental issues and controversies. Gustavus owns most volumes from 1984-present. Shelved on 3rd floor in the General Collection.

This report, put together by the OECD work programme for environmental indicators, includes information and statistics about environmental and socio-economic indicators to measure environmental progress and integrate environmental concerns in sectoral policies. (from report PDF)

Offers articles on environmental changes and the effects of those changes on humans. Topics covered include earth and earth systems, human factors (disease, land use, industrialization) resources (water, land, mineral) and political responses to global change.