Research Guides: PHY 370: Advanced Mathematical Methods: Articles

Newspapers

The easiest way to access news articles is through these databases. This will get you around any paywalls you might encounter if you were just searching Google for newspaper articles.

US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Access World News (Newsbank)

Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that provides access to hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and 1922. (Due to copyright law, newspapers published after 1922 can only be accessed on site at the Minnesota History Center.)

New York Times Historical

The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.

Recommended Article Databases

arXiv
A freely-accessible collection of papers in physics and other fields. The object of the archive is to diseminate research findings quickly, so articles are not always peer-reviewed (though some first posted in the archive are later formally reviewed and published). This was an early and important attempt to use the electronic environment for science research and is currently hosted at Cornell University.
Energy Citations Database
A service provided by the Department of Energy. Many of the cited texts are technical reports that may be difficult to obtain except for recent work which is often linked to full-text access; also includes citations and abstracts to articles publishished in journals.

Google Scholar

This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
The American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review (1893 - 1969), Physical Review Letters (1958 - 4 years ago), Reviews of Modern Physics (1929 - 4 years ago), Physical Review A - D (1970 - 4 years ago), and Physical Review E (1993 - 4 years ago).
SciFinder-n

We now have access to a new-and-improved interface, SciFinder-n. If you are already a SciFinder user, you can access it with your existing username and password. If you are a new to SciFinder, see the instructions below for creating your account.

Get Started with SciFinder-n: Create Your Account
Before you access SciFinder-n from the web for the first time, you must create your own SciFinder-n username and password from on campus. To begin the user registration process, go to the User Registration Page from on campus. For more information, see the SciFinder User Registration Guide (PDF file). After you have gone through the user registration process, use your SciFinder-n username and password to log in from on campus or remotely.

About SciFinder-n
In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in the original SciFinder, SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. To find full text of articles or to request them from other libraries, click on "link to other sources." You may need to enable popups on your browser for this window to open.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.