PHY 370: Advanced Mathematical Methods: Tracking Down Materials

In many cases, before you can track down full copies of materials, you need to know what kind of source it is. Here are some of the most common sources and what to look for in the citation (note that citations will look different in various citation styles):

• Journal article - Usually contains the title of an article in quotations and then the title of a journal in italics. Look for volume and issue numbers.

• Book - Almost always contains a place of publication or publisher, although this is changing in recent updates to some style guides. The book title is usually italicized or underlined.

• Chapter in an edited volume (book) - Also usually contains a city of publication or publisher. Title of chapter is usually in quotations and title of book is italicized. Look for editors (usually abbreviated ed or eds.)

For examples of other sources and how how citations look in various citation styles, visit our Cite Your Sources guide. Once you've decoded your citation, use the information on this page to track down hard copies. A librarian can also help you figure out your source type.

If you are searching in a library database, look for a link to access the full text or find it at Gustavus (individual databases will display this different).

If it is full text is in print, you can find the article in the Periodicals collection on the lower level of the library. Feel free to ask at the Information Desk for directions or assistance.

If the article is not full text at our library, you will be given the option to request it from another library:

Once you click Request from another library you will be directed to an online request form. Most of the required fields will be filled in for you; the systems don't always talk to each other perfectly, so complete as many missing information fields as possible.

It typically takes a day or two for articles to be emailed to you. The email will include a link and password to access the article (or chapter). If you download the article or chapter, you can keep it forever.

If you have a journal citation from a bibliography or an online source, start with the Do We Have This Journal? link on the library's homepage.

• Type the title of the journal (not the article) into the search box.

If we have access, you will either be linked to the full text of the journal online or you'll see that we have it in print. Informaiton Desk staff can help you navigate the Periodicals collection, shelved on the lower level of the library.

If we don't have access to the article, you can initiate a request using a blank request form. Fill out all required fields, and as many additional fields as possible.

If you have any issues or questions with any part of this process, please contact ILL staff.

• To find books and items at other libraries, use the Advanced Search in the library's catalog. Before you search, scroll down to "Search These Libraries" and select Libraries Worldwide. 
• When you find a book that we don't have in our library, click the title. Look for the Request from another library button (under Access Options on the right-hand side of the screen). Follow the prompts to log in and request the item.

Requested materials will be physically shipped to us from the lending library via a local courier route or the United States Postal Service.

You'll get an email when they arrive and can pick them up at the Library's Information Desk. It usually takes about a week for books to arrive, so please plan ahead.

Ebooks aren't usually available to borrow via ILL - this is a restriction set by ebook publishers.

• If you don't see a Request from another library button, you might be viewing an ebook record.
• Check to see if there's a print copy to borrow instead. Scroll down the page to the Explore Editions and Formats section and choose a different record.
• You can also browse Google Books to see if part or all of your book has been digitized.
• You can use the blank ILL form to request an item you are unable to find or request using the library's catalog.

• Don't worry about trying to identify a specific library to borrow from. We have internal lists of preferred partners and will make that determination once the request is submitted.
• We have access to library collections nationwide, and a handful of libraries outside the U.S. We obtain over 90% of materials requested.
• Requests can be autormatically processed (and delivered to you faster) when you fill in as many fields in the submission form as possible.
• Lending libraries determine all due dates, which means they can vary widely. If your ILL loan isn't long enough, contact ILL staff and we'll see what we can do.
• ILL items have a quick turnaround rate, but items can be delayed by factors outside our control. Weather, time differences, holidays and even institutional staffing levels have the potential to delay items longer than we anticipate. You can track the progress of your requests via My Account Online. If it seems to be taking longer than you'd hoped, don't hesitate to contact ILL staff - we're happy to investigate.