Research Guides: FTS: Managing People in the Public Sector: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

These databases are good places to start searching for articles on managing people in the public sector. If you need help selecting a databases, brainstorming topics and search terms, and tracking down articles, connect with a librarian.

Academic Search Premier

A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Business Source Premier

This business research database contains industry and company profiles, market research reports, and academic journals, magazine, and trade publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Google Scholar

This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
Regional Business News
Full text coverage for more than 80 U.S. regional business publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Finding the Actual Articles

Once you've identified an interesting article, look to see if the full text is there. If not, follow these steps:

Click the yellow "find it!" button, which will search to see if it is full text in another database or in the library's print collection.
If it is full text in another database, click the links to get to the article itself. Note: the systems don't always talk to each other perfectly. Sometimes the links go to the wrong places. If this is the case, contact a librarian. We are happy to help you track it down.
If the article is full text in print, take a field trip to the bottom floor of the library. Print journals are shelved alphabetically by title of the journal. Find the section containing your journal and then track down the article using the date/volume information. With the exception of the most recent issue of some popular magazines, you may check magazines and journals out for a week.

If an article is not available in full text or in print, request it through interlibrary loan, using your Gustavus account login to identify yourself. This generally means it will be scanned in for you at another library. An e-mail message will be sent to you with a URL and pin number to retrieve it. Though these scanned articles are sometimes are available within 24 hours, they can take longer. Plan ahead.

Sometimes you come across a footnote with an article that looks interesting. You don't need to turn to a database to find it. Check the title of the magazine or journal (not the article title) from the journal locator. If it is not available to us at Gustavus, log in to your library account and fill out an interlibrary loan request.

As you can see, tracking down the hard copies of materials can be tricky! Need help? Contact a librarian!

Finding Articles Activity

Instructions

Working with your partner,

Identify a topic from your course that you find interesting
Jot down a list of keywords you could use to search for information on your topic
Search for information on your topic in Academic Search Premier
Browse through the results and revise your search terms if necessary
Identify an article that looks promising and try to find the full text of the article

Keep track of your work and be prepared to share with the class!

Finished early? Search for information on your topic in Business Source Premier. How do your results compare to what you found in Academic Search Premier?