A Guide to Nursing: General Health & Medicine

Covers issues and controversies in bioethics in lengthy, scholarly articles, each one accompanied by a current bibliography of key sources.

This encyclopedia contains information on lifestyle habits and practices and their impact on health; covers relevant topics and issues in historical and contemporary context; and analyze the science behind nightly news reports and magazine cover stories.

This four-volume reference contains entries relevant to public health, promotion of health and prevention of disease, injuries and premature death. Topics covered include common ailments, environmental factors affecting health, organizations, etc.

A survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments and diagnostic procedures. Entries typically include the following elements: Causes and Symptoms, Definition, Description, Diagnosis, Prevention, Resources, Risks, Special Concerns.

A guide to basic information about medical and developmental issues and illnesses; intended for non-specialists.

Provides an overview of the field of medicine and includes entries on disorders, diseases, treatments, procedures, tests, therapies and common drugs.

Includes substantial articles on major disciplines in the field, research areas, and topics of public interest. Offers up-to-date and thorough coverage of mental disorders, symptoms, treatments, and psychological aspects of such topics as obesity and homelessness.

A good, succinct handbook of medical conditions and treatments.

Aims to answer typical health questions in an accessible form, incorporating recent research findings. Covers over 300 topics, with illustrations.