Basics:
Citing a primary source document found in an archival collection is a different experience than working with a book, website, or journal article.
Format varies depending on style (American Psychological Association (APA), Modern Language Association (MLA), or Chicago Manual of Style), but there are basic elements necessary for properly citing a document such as the Camilla Hall letter to the right
The item: The creator/author, specific item, page, section, date.
Box and folder: Generally, most archival materials are kept in folders and boxes.
Repository: This is the name of the archives and its location.
Important Elements about the Document Shown to the Right:
Collection: Papers Concerning Camilla Hall and George F. and Lorena Hall, 1938-1995. CAMC Collection 13
Item: Camilla Hall to her Parents, October 25, 1968
Box: Box 1
Folder: Folder 4
Archives: College and Lutheran Church Archives, St. Peter, Minnesota
Camilla Hall's letter could be cited in the following ways (citation/note and reference/bibliography):
APA:
In-text citation: (Hall, C., Letter to Parents, October 25, 1968)
Reference list: Hall, C. (1968, October 25). [Letter to Parents]. Papers Concerning Camilla Hall and George F. and Lorena Hall, 1938-1995 (CAMC 13, Box 1, Folder 4), College and Lutheran Church Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN.
MLA:
In-text citation: (Hall, 25 October 1968)
Reference list: Hall, Camilla. Letter to Parents. 25 October 1968. Papers Concerning Camilla Hall and George F. and Lorena Hall, 1938-1995. CAMC 13. College and Lutheran Church Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN.
Chicago:
Footnote: Camilla Hall to Parents, 25 October 1968, Box 1, Fol. 4, Papers Concerning Camilla Hall and George F. and Lorena Hall, 1938-1995, CAMC 13, College and Lutheran Church Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minnesota.
Bibliography: Hall Family. Papers Concerning Camilla Hall and George F. and Lorena Hall, 1938-1995. CAMC 13. College and Lutheran Church Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minnesota.
