Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Gender Women & Sexuality Studies: Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources

There are many different kinds of primary sources, anything from zines to diaries to newspaper articles to memoirs. The resources on this page are not comprehensive, so explore what's here, and if you can't find what you're looking for or if you need more suggestions, please contact Sarah or another librarian (contact info on the right).

See more about primary sources at the Primary Sources Guide. That page will help you find historical popular magazines, newspapers and the popular press, government documents, and more in the Gustavus collections and online.

Primary Source Materials in the Gustavus Library

To find primary source materials available in the Gustavus library, go to the Advanced Search in the library catalog.  In one of the search boxes, enter the word "source" and set the field to "Subject."  Then, enter keywords related to your topic in another box.  This search will bring back primary source materials that are in edited volumes.

Primary Sources Online

Book Series in the Gustavus Library

All of the books and microfilm collections listed below can be found in the Gustavus Library.  Talk with a librarian if you need help locating any of these resources.

The Early Modern Englishwoman: A Facsimile Library of Essential Works
Aldershot: Ashgate 2000
A collection of British women's writing from 1500 to 1640, including the writings of Elizabeth and Mary Tudor, Jane Seymour, confessional writing, poetry, and mother's advice books
• Location(s): PR 1121 .E19 2000

Schomburg Library of Nineteenth Century Black Women Writers
Oxford: Oxford UP Various Dates
This series of books, published by Oxford University Press, reprints all sorts of writings-- personal narratives, novels, poetry, anthologies. They are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): Various Call Numbers

Women in America from Colonial Times to the 20th Century
New York: Arno Various Dates
This series of reprints, produced by Arno Press, includes works by and about women published before 1900. As with the Schomburg series, the volumes are shelved in various locations, but searching the catalog using the series as a title will bring up a listing of the works in the series.
• Location(s): Various Call Numbers

American Women's Diaries
New Canaan, CT: Readex 1984
This collection of microfilm reproduces the diaries of women who lived and traveled in the western U.S., New England, and the South.
• Location(s): Microfilm Room - CT 3260 .A64 1984

The Cornell University Collection of Women's Rights Pamphlets
Wooster, MN: Bell & Howell 1974
This collection of microfiche contains 117 pamphlets published between 1814 and 1912.
• Location(s): Microfilm Room - Microfiche HQ 1236 .C675 1974
1814-1912

Herstory Microfilm Collection
Berkeley: Women's History Research Center 1973
This collection of microfilm largely consists of women's periodicals. There is no single detailed index to the series, so use requires a certain amount of inventiveness and patience to use. There are two supplementary collections of clippings arranged in broad subject categories dealing with Women's Law (MicroF KF 477 .A1 W6) and Women and Health (Microfilm MF 96).
• Location(s): MicroF HQ 1101 .H47

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License