Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GIS & Geospatial Data
Provides a wealth of information about populations and places in the United States, drawing on census data. The powerful search facility can be used to pinpoint tables of data and to create maps based on the variables you supply. Mapping tools enable creation of thematic maps from national to street level.
A US government clearinghouse for federal, state, and local geospatial data. Includes tools for creating maps as well as a selection of ready-made maps.
Geography Software at Gustavus - Connect via Gustavus Virtual Lab
Gustavus Virtual Lab allows students remote access to a full virtual desktop lab machine. Use Virtual Lab to connect to Geography software from your personal machine or from labs (such as the Library labs) at which the Geography software is not installed.
Historical GIS Clearinghouse and Forum
From the Association of American Geographers, this digital exchange center for geographers and historians includes links to databases, maps, and atlases.
Map Collections, 1500-2004
from the Library of Congress. Historically important maps organized thematically.
Minnesota Maps Online
from the Minnesota Historical Society; includes the first government land survey from 1848 to 1907 as well as BML maps through 2001.
National Map: The Nation's Topographic Map for the 21st Century
The viewer allows users to zoom in on any part of the U.S. and choose map layers that include elevation, roads, water, land use, and even detailed aerial satellite images. Whether you're examining a region, a state, or a few city blocks, this tool offers access to a wealth of cartographic information.
Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection
from the General Libraries, University of Texas at Austin, this site provides an excellent and frequently updated list of over 2,400 online maps in digital form. Organized primarily by region and country, this site also includes maps of current interest, linked to world events.
Places in the News
from the Library of Congress, provides maps of places that are currently getting attention. Part of their Geography and Maps
a project housed at Florida International University. By selecting a specific place, this sites provides aerial satellite images. You can zoom in and out or "fly" across an area. Additionally, by clicking on a point in any US location, detailed data opens in another window, down to the block level. This project combines information from the Census, NASA, the Geologic Survey, and other public sources into a single, powerful tool.
Fall 2020 reference (research) help:
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License