Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Books
Reference books are located on the main (second) floor of the library. They introduce key concepts, give you ideas for search terms, and help you understand the scope of a topic. This is not a comprehensive list - be sure to browse the shelves to find more.
Religion in America
Contemporary American Religion - Ref BL 2525 .C65 1999
Contains over 500 short articles on facets of American religious life, including organizations, movements, practices, trends, and beliefs.
Encyclopedia of African American Religions - Ref BR 563 .E53 1993
Offers substantial articles on people, organizations, churches, and topics such as "preaching and the preacher in African American Religion" and "theology, black." Includes chronology and introductory essays as well as a thorough bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States - Ref BP67 .U6 E53 2007
Volume one contains entries about Islam in the United States; volume two contains primary documents and further investigations into topics such as citizenship, gender, and September 11.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion - Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 2007
Offers overview articles on a wide variety of topics including places, people, faith traditions, and controversial issues such as creationism.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America - Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010 (4 vols.)
Covers a broad range of historical and contemporary topics related to religion in America and includes extensive bibliographies
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience - Ref BL 2525 .E53 1988
Contains substantial articles surveying religions, cultural context, issues, and other broad topics, each with a helpful bibliography for further research.
Handbook of Denominations in the United States - Ref BL 2525 .M425 2005
An excellent one-stop reference for overviews of denominations.
Hispanic American Religious Cultures - Ref BL2525 .H57 2009 (2 vols.)
Presents information on the diversity of Hispanic American religious expression, including historical development and current trends.
Introduction to New and Alternative Religions in America - Ref BL 2525 .I58 2006
A five-volume set that contains in-depth articles covering various aspects of American religions movements, ranging from alternative forms of Asian, African, Christian, and Jewish religions to considerations of New Age, Neopagan, and social aspects of alternative religions, such as gender, violence, legal aspects, and Millenialism.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions - Ref BL 2525 .M449 2009
Essays provide overviews of major trends in religion in the United States and Canada, along with detailed descriptions of 24 major religious traditions
Religion and American Cultures - Ref BL 2525 .R448 2015
Newly revised, this multi-volume set covers the intersection of culture and various religions in American life, as well as various views individual traditions have toward topics such as the body, death, and sexuality. The set also includes a richness of primary source materials.
Cambridge History of Christianity - Ref BR 141 .C36 2006
A detailed chronological overview of the history of Christianity, including social, political, and regional aspects as well as theological. The chapters are written by experts in each topic area covered.
Dictionary of Native American Mythology - Ref E 98 .R3 G46 1992
A quick place to locate basic information about figures, events, and topics in Native North American mythology, from all tribes and periods. Includes a useful bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Religion - Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
Covers religions from around the world and through history as well as people and ideas related to religion. The articles are written by experts in their fields and include excellent bibliographies. This new edition includes hundreds of new articles, thoroughly revised coverage of all topics in religion, and a handful of "visual essays" that illustrate visual culture as a significant aspect of religion.
Encyclopaedia Judaica - Ref DS 102.8 .E496 2007
An excellent source for information on the Jewish people and religion, offering scholarly and in-depth articles, recently updated to include current research on historical and contemporary topics.
Historical Atlas of the Religions of the World - Ref BL 80.2 .F28
Provides a geographical framework for the understanding of world religions, past and present. It features significant descriptive text along with maps.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism - Ref BQ 128 .E62 2004
Essays cover a variety of topics related to Buddhism.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity - Ref BR 162.2 .E53 1990
Focusing on the early years of the Christian Church, this handbook is a good place to find short discussions of people, places, topics, and texts.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism - Ref BL 1105 .E53 2008
Provides detailed information about Hinduism; entries contain biblographies
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World - Ref BP 40 .E525 2004
Provides an overview of individuals, concepts, and topics related to Islam.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism - Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
Covers creeds, cultural and social issues, important people and institutions, theology, and the diverse traditions and faith groups that make up protestantism, both historically and in contemporary times.
Encyclopedia of Taoism - Ref BL1920 .E539 2008
This two volume work provides an overview of Taoism; entries contain bibliographies, which can help in locating other sources
New Catholic Encyclopedia - Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
This recently-revised encyclopedia covers many general topics, but is particularly thorough in its coverage of Catholic doctrine, history, and traditional practice. Includes many illustrations.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World - Ref DS 35.53 .O96 2009
Covers countries of the Islamic world and topics related to Islamic religion, history, and culture. Articles are lengthy and scholarly as well as up-to-date.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices - Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2002
Offers short articles on countries and on religious denominations. 4 vols.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License