Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Materials in the Gustavus Library
To find primary source materials available in the Gustavus library, go to the Advanced Search in the library catalog. In one of the search boxes, enter the word "source" and set the field to "Subject." Then, enter keywords related to your topic in another box. This search will bring back primary source materials that are in edited volumes.
While the resources on this page give you some suggestions for finding primary sources in the field of religion, you may also want to consult our Guide to Primary Sources.
CDRI: Digital Resources for the Study of Religion
From the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools, the Cooperative Digital Resource Initiative (CDRI) provides access to a large set of high-quality digital resources for the study of religion. This impressive digital image collection features items as diverse as woodcuts, coins, maps, postcards, sermons, and other ephemera. Search for keywords, or browse the collections thematically.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Contains online versions of Christian historical texts. Note many of the reference sources in this collection are very old and only of historical interest.
Search engine for online versions of the Bible.
Statistics and Data
American Religion Data Archive
Mostly using public opinion polls, this site provides demographic and attitudinal information about American's religious beliefs.
Hartford Institute for Religious Research
Contains excellent research on religion in America, focusing especially on research in congregations and denominations, plus sociology of religion.
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Part of the Pew Research Center, this site is an excellent source for religious and spiritual issues in current events as well as analysis of ethical issues that relate to religion and public affairs.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License