A Guide to Primary Sources: General Collection Books
The materials listed are a sampling of resources that may prove helpful in historical research. Look, too, for collections of documents published as anthologies or for important historical texts from the many sources listed below.
The American Negro, His History and Literature
Reprinted in 1968-69, these are books written by African-American authors. These are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): General Collection: Various Locations
The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography
Vol. 2-17 consist of transcriptions of narratives prepared by the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-38, and deposited in the Library of Congress, where they were assembled under title: Slave narratives, a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves.
• Location(s): E441 .A58 (19 vols)
The Black Women Oral History Project
Contained in this multivolume project are the transcripts of oral interviews of some 72 African American women born, with two exceptions, between 1885 and 1915.
• Location(s): E185.86 .B545 (10 vols)
The Early English Text Society Series
This is a series of reprints of early books published in English. These are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): General Collection: Various Locations
The Early Modern Englishwoman: A Facsimile Library of Essential Works
Aldershot: Ashgate 2000
A collection of British women's writing from 1500 to 1640, including the writings of Elizabeth and Mary Tudor, Jane Seymour, confessional writing, poetry, and mother's advice books
• Location(s): PR 1121 .E19 2000
The English Experience, Its Record in Early Printed Books Published in Facsimile
This is a series of reprints of books first published in English, mostly prior to 1800. These are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): General Collection: Various Locations
Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation
This series contains a selection of representative primary source documents relating to the subject of emancipation in the South from 1861-1867. They are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series title as a name.
• Location(s): General Collection: Various Locations
The March of America Facsimile Series
This is a series of reprints of works dealing with the discovery and history of America. These are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalogby searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): General Collection: Various Locations
Russia Observed
This is a series of reprints of books relating to the history of Russia. These are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): General Collection: Various Locations
Schomburg Library of Nineteenth Century Black Women Writers
Oxford: Oxford UP Various Dates
This series of books, published by Oxford University Press, reprints all sorts of writings-- personal narratives, novels, poetry, anthologies. These are not shelved all together, but can be located on the catalog by searching the series name as a title.
• Location(s): Various Call Numbers
