Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. It is international in scope, and citations date from 1785 to the present.
GSW provides access to the full text of more than 40 journals in the earth sciences. The default search includes both GSW journals and the GeoRef index. To limit your search to GSW full text journals only, select "All GSW journals" on the Quick Search or Advanced Search menu.
Google is in the midst of an ambitious project to digitize books from publishers and in libraries. Those that were published before 1923 are in full text; those still potentially under copyright can be searched, but not viewed in full. It offers an interesting way to locate very specific words, phrases, and citations, particularly in older books. Using the advanced search you can limit a search to books that are full text or published within a range of years.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online)
The online counterpart to the New Grove Dictionary of Music, this reference source contains articles on composers, performers, styles, genres, world music, instruments, and much more. This title is available through Oxford Music Online and can be cross-searched with The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. The print version is also available in the reference collection. Note: This resource is limited to one user at a time.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
This collection brings together journals, compiled legislative histories, congressional hearings and reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more related to gun regulation.
Gustavian (yearbook) (1904-2015) (Firefox recommended)
Searchable full text and pdf page images of the Gustavus Adolphus College yearbook. Yearbooks from 1904 to 2015 are digitally archived here. This site also searches older issues of the Gustavian newspaper.
Gustavian Weekly (newspaper) (1891-May 2017) (Firefox recommended)
Searchable full text and pdf page images of the Gustavus Adolphus College newspaper. Issues from January 1891 through May 2017 are digitally archived here. This site also searches the Gustavian yearbook (1904-2015). More recent print editions of the newspaper are retained in both the library and archives.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License