Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by
Publication Date: 2006-11-20
Recommended Reference Works
American Decades - Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994 (10 vols.)
Presents social and cultural history in ten-year periods, covering the arts, business, fashion, law, medicine, religion, and more.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World - Ref ML 102 .P66 C66 2003
A comprehensive encyclopedia of popular music, with each volume organized thematically. Topics covered include the media, industry, and society, performance and production, and popular music of various world regions.
Encyclopedia of Country Music - Ref ML102.C7 E54 2012
This encyclopedia includes nearly 1,300 alphabetical entries covering eight decades of country music, from the earliest '20s recordings of the Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers to the '90s chart-topping albums of LeAnn Rimes and Garth Brooks. Covers singers, songwriters, record companies, and industry movers and shakers.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music - Ref ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 (10 vols)
Offers brief information on musicians, bands, musicals, and record labels. Includes a song title index.
Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online)
The online counterpart to the New Grove Dictionary of Music, this reference source contains articles on composers, performers, styles, genres, world music, instruments, and much more. This title is available through Oxford Music Online and can be cross-searched with The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. The print version is also available in the reference collection. Note: This resource is limited to one user at a time.
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians - Ref ML 100 .N48 2001
The most definitive source on music and music history. The articles in these volumes are carefully researched and documented and provide information on national music traditions, musical forms, composers and musicians, instruments, and more. There are several more specialized Grove encyclopedias--the New Grove Dictionary of American Music (Ref ML 101 .U6 N48 1986), the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (Ref ML 102 .J3 N48 2002), the New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (Ref ML 102 .I5 N48 1984), and the New Grove Dictionary of Opera (Ref ML 102 .O6 .N58 1997). This encyclopedia is also available through the Web as Grove Music Online
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License