Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America by
Publication Date: 2004-07-15
Recommended Reference Works
American Decades - Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994 (10 vols.)
Presents social and cultural history in ten-year periods, covering the arts, business, fashion, law, medicine, religion, and more.
Encyclopedia of Aging - Ref HQ1061 .E53 2001
Covers topics related to aging in brief articles.
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society - Ref GV11 .E555 2009
This two-volume set explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today.
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America - Ref GV 53 .E53 2004
Contains lengthy explorations of the leisure activities of various communities in the US as well as pursuits such as baseball, marathons, tourism, and concepts such as leisure class and television's impact on popular leisure.
Encyclopedia of Sociology - Ref HM425 .E5 2000
This set provides up-to-date and scholarly discussions of topics in the field such as class and race, ethnicity, economic sociology, and social structure. Each article is written by a specialist and all have excellent bibliographies.
Working Americans 1880-1999 - Ref HD 8066 .D47 2000
A compilation of social history, providing profiles of average families and primary sources organized chronologically. The first three volumes of this series cover the working class, middle class, and upper class. Further volumes focus on childrenk, women at work, social movements, immigration, and more.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License