LibGuides: HES 203: Introduction to Athletic Training: Reference Works

Why Use Reference Works?

Specialized reference works such as encyclopedias provide overviews and can give you a good sense of what's out there and what different approaches are being taken to a given topic. Most of our reference sources are located in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. Some are available online.

Recommended Reference Works

Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences - Ref GV706.4 .D57 1996
This directory provides a brief summary of the methods used in a variety of psychological tests relating to sport and exercise science. Tests are organized by subject, such as anxiety, attitudes/values toward sport, body image, and motivation.
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies - Ref GV567 .E483 2006
This 3 volume set provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the science, social science and medicine of sport. Organized alphabetically, the set covers topics such as: sports economics, sports history, resistance training, diagnosis of sports injuries, cross training, projectile motion, metabolism, overview, motivation, overview, muscle tension length relationship.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology - Ref GV 706.4 .E5 2014
Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine - Ref RC 1206 .E53 2011
This 4-volume set covers a variety of topics, including: conditioning and training; diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries; diet and nutrition; exercise physiology, injury prevention, and sports psychology.
Encyclopedia of Sports Science - Ref GV 558 .E53 1997
The first half of this encyclopedia examines different sports and the basic science concepts behind various aspects of the sport. The second part examines the physiology of sports with topics ranging from body composition to vision.
Mosby's Medical Dictionary - Ref R 121 .M89 2009
A standard dictionary of medical terminology, with illustrations and an atlas of human anatomy.
Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine - Ref RC 1206 .O94 2006
Covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles.

Librarian

Rachel Flynn

Email Me

Subjects: Art and Art History, English, Health and Exercise Science, Psychological Science, Public Health