LibGuides: HIS 200: Thinking Historically: Articles

Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Search the Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Materials not available at Gustavus might be borrowed from other libraries and sent here for you to use.

Evaluating Journals and Magazines

http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/spmaterials/

Learn how to distinguish between scholarly, popular, and trade articles. From the North Carolina University Libraries.

Recommended Article Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly (secondary) articles about historical topics.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Project Muse Basic College Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.

History Journals in Print

In addition to journals for historians, the library has many popular magazines that can be used as primary sources.

American Historical Review
Civil War History
History Matters
History Today
Journal of African American History
Journal of American History
Journal of Social History
Journal of Southern History
Journal of the West
Latin American Research Review
Minnesota History
Past and Present
Renaissance History
Slavic Review
Swedish American Historical Review
William and Mary Quarterly