Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring 2021 reference (research) help:
These are some recommended film database websites. To help you find further quality sources for film studies research, consult "Evaluating Web Sites" to the right.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
This website features film and television plot summaries, credits, actor and filmmaker biographies, news, rankings, and trivia.
The catalog contains entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films produced since 1893.
This website features movie reviews, short synopses, quotes, rankings, trailers, and film industry news.
This film database covers descriptive content, credits, biographies, rankings, and reviews. Also browseable by theme or keyword.
Online Film & Video Clips
American Memory: Motion Pictures
Online access to video clips that document the American experience.
Free online access to videos, stills, texts, and audio from European history, beginning in the early 1900s.
Internet Archive: Movie Archive
Free online access to over a million digital movies including full-length films, news, cartoons, television programs, and advertisements.
Over 12,000 movie clips of popular feature films, browseable by title, actor, genre, theme, specific action, and more.
Silent Films - Thanhouser
Online access to over 50 silent Thanhouser films produced between 1910 and 1917.
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials (1952-present)
Television commercials covering every presidential campaign since 1952, including summaries of campaign strategies and results.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum: Film and Video Archive
The Stephen Spielberg Film and Video Archive contains over 1000 hours of archival footage from 1930-1945 pertaining to the Holocaust and relevant European history.
World Digital Library
Compilation of primary sources from around the world, including several culturally and historically significant motion pictures.
Tips on how to recognize reliable sources by evaluating them in terms of relevance, currency, audience, and credibility.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License