Research Guides: FTS: Psychology of Gender: Reference Works

Featured Reference Work

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .E52 2001b v. 1-2

ISBN: 0122272455

Publication Date: 2001
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: Ref BF31 .E52 2010 v. 1-4

ISBN: 9780470170250

Publication Date: 2010

Recommended Reference Works

Specialized reference works, such as encyclopedias, provide overviews and can give you a good sense of what is out there and what different approaches are being taken for a given topic. Most of our reference sources are located in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. While you also will find general encyclopedias there, these are best used for personal inquiries. For college research you should go beyond general encyclopedias, whether online or in print, and specialized reference book are a great way to begin. Here are some works that might be particularly helpful for you.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology - Ref BF31 .E52 2010
An authoritative source of articles on psychology, ranging from developmental psychology, to forensic psychology, to language and linguistic processes, to statistical procedures and research methods. Includes bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Psychology - Ref BF 31 .E52 2000
An authoritative source of articles on topics, methods, findings, advances, and applications in the field. Each article is followed by a current bibliography of the key works on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Ref HQ16 .E52 2007
Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender - Ref HQ 1115 .E52 2001b
Provides long, in-depth articles on topics on current research about the psychology of women and gender. Includes topics such as gender and achievement, aging, child care, and body image concerns.
Women's Studies Encyclopedia - Ref HQ 1115 .W645 1999
Provides short articles on a wide variety of topics.

Ask Us!

Summer Research Help:

Email folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)
24/7 chat (during the summer months, monitored by librarians from other colleges & universities)

Fall & Spring Semester Research Help:

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)