Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 196. Lutheran Church in America. Biennial Convention Minutes, Reports, and Related Papers of the Lutheran Church in America, 1960-1987: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Church in America.  Biennial Convention Minutes, Reports, and Related Papers of the Lutheran Church in America, 1960-1987.  LCA Collection 196.  1 Records Center Carton and ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Lutheran Church in America Minutes and Reports collection contains the published minutes, bulletins of reports, and some supplements to the report bulletins from the Church’s biennial conventions.  Included in the minute books and reports are convention agendas and programs, financial reports, and reports from various committees and affiliated church bodies.

Historical Note

The Lutheran Church in America (LCA) was formed in 1962 by a merger of the United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA), the Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (Suomi Synod), the American Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC), and the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church (Augustana Synod).  The Lutheran Church in America existed until 1987 when it merged with the American Lutheran Church and the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches to form the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), which still exists today.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License