Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Music in American Life by
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Recommended Reference Works
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World - Ref ML 102 .P66 C66 2003
A comprehensive encyclopedia of popular music, with each volume organized thematically. Topics covered include the media, industry, and society, performance and production, and popular music of various world regions.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology - Ref QA76.15 .H43 2009
Offers more than six hundred alphabetically arranged, cross-referenced entries covering such computer-related topics as the Internet, structured programming, identity theft, blogging, cyberterrorism, and Wikipedia.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics - Ref Q 175.35 .E53 2005
This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
Film and Television Music: A Guide to Books, Articles, and Composer Interviews - Ref ML128 .M7 S545 2011
This annotated guide includes sections on books, dissertations, composer and songwriter biographies, and film and music periodicals with film-music articles. In addition, dozens of small-press magazines and newsletters are indexed.
Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments - Ref ML 102 .I5 N48 2014
This encyclopedia covers worldwide musical instruments, including "electronic and experimental instruments, history and techniques of instrument design and manufacture, issues of practical concern, the human body as instrument, and people whose work has shaped the modern understanding of instruments." (Oxford Music Online)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Ref Q 121 .M3 2012, 20 vols.
Covers topics in the sciences in detail, giving technical discussions fully illustrated with charts, diagrams, and photographs.
Music in American Life - Ref ML 101 .U6 M87 2013
Entries include singers, composers, lyricists, songs, musical genres, places, instruments, technologies, music in films, music in political realms, and music shows on television.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia - Ref Q121 .V3 2008
Covers topics ranging across all scientific disciplines including the life sciences, earth and atmospheric sciences, physical sciences, medicine, and mathematics, as well as many areas of engineering and technology.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License