Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring 2021 reference (research) help:
This site from Duke University of over 7,000 advertisements created between 1911 and 1955 in the U.S. and Canada. Researchers may search by keyword or browse by five topic areas: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda.
A database containing full text documents, spoken word and sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music as a digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Art Images for College Teaching
Images of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture, all photographed on location by the author for non-commercial, educational use. Some post-Renaissance and "non-Western" works are also included, but copyright restrictions prevent the inclusion of most 20th and 21st century works.
ARTstor Digital Library is a subscription database providing over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with a suite of software tools for teaching and research. Includes material from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Search the content of encyclopedias, a dictionary and thesaurus, a multimedia database with images, videos, and sound files, the Web's Best Sites, selected magazines and journals, country statistics from World Data Analyst, notable quotations, and Gateway to the Classics (a collection of works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science). Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
British Museum: Collection Online
Images and descriptions of objects housed in the British Museum.
CDRI: Digital Resources for the Study of Religion
From the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools, the Cooperative Digital Resource Initiative (CDRI) provides access to a large set of high-quality digital resources for the study of religion. This impressive digital image collection features items as diverse as woodcuts, coins, maps, postcards, sermons, and other ephemera. Search for keywords, or browse the collections thematically.
Digital Collections, College and Lutheran Church Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College
Digitized materials include college photographs, manuscripts, World War I posters, Lutheran church images, and more. Digitized materials represent a small sample of the entire collection.
Diversity of African Art: Tradition-Based Arts
Traditional objects at the National Museum of African Art, arranged by category. Items of dress, furniture, tools and weapons are included, as well as sculpture and other art objects.
Emergence of Advertising in America
From Duke University Libraries, presents images related to the early history of advertising in the United States, 1850-1920.
Flickr - The Commons
Provides access to images from public photography archives from around the world.
Flickr Creative Commons
Many Flickr users offer their work under Creative Commons licenses. Visit the website for details on how you can use images offered under the different types of Creative Commons licenses.
Free to Use and Reuse from the Library of Congress
Explore a subset of the library's digital collections through thematic sets of images from children's books, travel posters, images related to women's history, and more.
Search the web for image content.
Image Collections and Online Art
Links to online image collections arranged by geographic area and genre as well as listings of more general collections. For additional art history links, visit the site's home page
. From the University of Michigan.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Library of Congress. Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images; in some cases only thumbnail images will display to those searching outside the Library of Congress due to rights considerations.
Louvre (Paris): Atlas Database of Exhibited Works
Search records and (French) descriptions for 30,000 works of art housed in the Louvre Museum in Paris. The majority of records include images. English interface; searches must be in French.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. It covers subject areas of general interest and contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.. Note: To limit your search to primary source documents, select "Primary Source Document" in the "Publication Type" box. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York): Works of Art
Use the search box to search for images or artworks, or browse by period and genre. The Metropolitan Museum's website contains over 6,500 images of artworks with descriptions and information about their creators, materials, and provenance.
Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
A searchable collection of images and primary sources from libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums across Minnesota.
Free high resolution digital stock photography for either corporate or public use. Use this site to find free image reference material for use in all creative pursuits.
National Gallery of Art - NGA Images
A repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 open access digital images are available free of charge for download and use.
Public Domain & Creative Commons Images
A guide from Harvard Law School Library on how to find and attribute images that don't have copyright restrictions that prohibit reuse.
Smithsonian Open Access
"Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo." For a more robust search, go to: http://collections.si.edu/search/
SPIRO: Slide and Photograph Image Retrieval Online
SPIRO is the visual online catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architectural Visual Resources Library at the University of California, Berkeley. It contains images of photographs and drawings from approximately 2,000 books, 200 periodicals, as well as postcards, posters, and calendars. (description from UCB)
High resolution photos free to use for projects and easily searched by theme.
WorldImages contains over 50,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. Use a variety of search techniques, or browse some 500 portfolios organized into subject groupings. (Description from home page.)
First Freshman Class, Gustavus Adolphus College
Courtesy of the College Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License