Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When you have an article with references, you can see if a particular reference is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
Additional Options for Finding Articles
Browse these sites for recent articles about evidence-based practice. While some of the sites might link you to the full text of an article, you will likely have to track down the hard copy through other means. Use the Journal List search (above) to track down journal citations; search by entering the title of the journal. The Journal List search will tell you if we have access to the article in print or via one of our databases.
ACP Journal Club
In this monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine, research staff and clinical editors summarize the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals.
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, from the University of Oxford, provides resources and promotes evidence-based health care.
This site provide evidence-based medicine resources, including a peer reviewed journal publishing systematic reviews of important clinical conditions. Clinical Evidence
reviews published between 2003 and two years ago are available for free through PubMed Central.
Evidence-Based Medicine Online
"Evidence-Based Medicine systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research. Content is critically appraised then the most clinically relevant articles are summarised into a succinct expert commentary focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice. EBM also publishes articles relevant to the study and practice of evidence-based medicine; including Original Research and Reviews."
A clinical search tool designed to help health professionals to identify clinical evidence for clinical practice. Register for a free account for additional features, such as collaborative tools.
Recommended Article Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)
Provides indexing for over 3,800 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health dating back to 1937; includes full text for more than 750 of those journals. Also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
Evidence-based practice collection. Includes six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About the Cochrane Collaboration Database. Note: This subscription allows for one user at a time.
National Library of Medicine's index to scholarly literature in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system, from 1994-present. MEDLINE links to the ProQuest interface; this database can also be searched through the NLM's free PubMed web interface.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is a database of over 22,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) (New PubMed)
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers all aspects of sport and fitness. Contains bibliographic references to international practical and research literature in sport, physical fitness, active living, and physical education. Contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. Provides full text for more than 440 journals. NOTE: Access is limited to four simultaneous users.
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and chapters.
Materials not available at Gustavus may be borrowed from other libraries and sent here for you to use. Location: Library -- Main Floor.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License