LibGuides: POL 390: Constitutional Law: Articles

Finding Academic Articles

These databases are your best bets for finding law reviews and other academic analyses of the Supreme Court and constitutional law. I'd recommend you focus primarily on JSTOR and Academic Search Premier. Then consider expanding to Business Source Premier and EBSCO MegaFILE next before trying the others. Use the Tracking Down Materials tab above if you need help finding the full text of articles or send me an email.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This business research database contains industry and company profiles, market research reports, and academic journals, magazine, and trade publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
EBSCO MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 19,000 publications and indexing for nearly 24,000 publications. Comprised of the Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Springer All America's Package This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,500 titles in full text, from 1997-present.

Librarian

Julie Gilbert

Contact:

Hello! I look forward to working with you. If you have any questions about research, an assignment, or the library in general, please contact me - (jgilber2 @ gustavus.edu). You can also reach any of the reference librarians at folke @ gustavus.edu or via the Ask Us! button on the library's homepage.

Subjects: African Studies, Gender Women & Sexuality Studies (GWS), Physics, Political Science