Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for Searching Google
- Limit a search to recent publications: at the top of your search results, click on tools and choose a time period (helpful if you want up-to-date information)
- Limit a search by domain type: genetic testing site:.gov
- Exclude domains from a search: genetic testing breast cancer –site:.com
- Put a phrase in quotes: “amyotrophic lateral sclerosis”
- Search for related terms together: "amyotrophic lateral sclerosis" OR "lou gehrig's disease"
- Not sure where a page comes from? Delete everything in the URL after the first / to go to the root page
- Select News at the top of your search results to focus on news reporting.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the NIH is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
CDC Public Health Genomics
A section of the Centers for Disease Control that focuses on turning genomics discoveries into evidence-based practice. Many of the resources here are for a general audience.
Genetics Home Testing
Information about genetic conditions written in accessible language from the National Library of Medicine/
A layperson's portal to information compiled by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Includes information on over 650 health topics and an online medical encyclopedia.
Most genetic diseases have organizations that help affected people find information, raise funds for research, and advocate in Washington for support. While these are advocacy groups with a distinct point of view, they are often useful sources of basic information.
The default search box includes books, videos, some articles, and government documents in our library and elsewhere. You can limit a search by date, format (e.g. book) or just to things available at Gustavus. If you come across a book or article that isn't here, it's easy to request a copy from another library (interlibrary loan).
Academic Search Premier
This is an all-purpose database for articles of all kinds. Note you can limit your search by type of article (newspaper, magazine, journal) and by date, important for finding current information.
This database focuses on research articles in the field of biology, including articles about methods and use of genetic testing. If a PDF is not available, click on "find it" to locate it in another database or to ask for a copy from another library.
Reports for medical professionals that systematically review research on a topic to make recommendations for health care practitioners. The reports can be quite technical.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) (New PubMed)
Probably more than you want to know about medicine! This vast database from the National Library of Medicine is global in scale and is the most in-depth collection of medical research papers. Most of the articles found here are quite technical in nature.
What Floor Is It On?
Books in the general collection with call numbers starting with A - PQ are shelved on the upper level
Books in the general collection with call numbers starting with PR - Z are on the main floor
Many books on reproductive technology are found in a book case near the front door; these have a call number ending with Entrance Display.
Books of Interest
Pandora's DNA by
Call Number: RD667.5 .S73 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Waiting for Cancer to Come by
Call Number: RC280.B8 H47 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
Call Number: RL793 .R68 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License