LibGuides: S/A 255: Sustainability and Human Nature(s): Getting Background Information

Reference Books

Wikipedia has lots of good information and is naturally a first place to look when you want to fill yourself in on an unfamiliar topic. But reference books are useful too because they take a more academic approach and ask experts to write the articles. This page shows just a selection of reference books that might be useful supplements to Wikipedia.

Reference Books that Might Be Helpful

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by Kevin Nadal (Editor)
Call Number: Reference BF692.2 .S234 2017
ISBN: 9781483384283
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Paul Robbins (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HM856 .E53 2007
ISBN: 9781412927611
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Roy F. Baumeister (Editor); Kathleen D. Vohs (Editor)
Call Number: HM1007 .E53 2007
ISBN: 9781412916707
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: HM425 .E47 2005
ISBN: 9780761926115
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)
Call Number: HB61 .S17564 2015
ISBN: 1452226431
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by William A. Darity
Call Number: H40.A2 I5 2008
ISBN: 9780028659657
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: Reference E184.A1 E584 2013
ISBN: 0028661753
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
Call Number: Reference GN11 .E63 2006
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Environmental Encyclopedia by Deirdre S. Blanchfield
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .E38 2011
ISBN: 9781414487366
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Concise coverage of environmental issues and scientific concepts. Includes organizations, people, places, economic and political issues, popular and scientific terminology. Includes illustrations and tables.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Call Number: Ref GE 42 .E533 2009
ISBN: 0028661370
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index. (Google)