LibGuides: REL 244: Creation & the Bible: Biblical Commentaries

Featured Works

Women's Bible Commentary
Call Number: Ref BS491.3 .W66 2012
ISBN: 9780664237073
Publication Date: 2012
The Queer Bible Commentary
Call Number: Ref BS680.H67 Q44 2006
ISBN: 9780334040217
The New Interpreter's Bible
Call Number: Ref BS491.2 .N484 1994 v.1-12
ISBN: 0687278147
Publication Date: 1994
Global Bible Commentary
Call Number: Ref BS491.3 .G57 2004
ISBN: 0687064031

Researching Biblical Passages

Biblical commentaries are a category of texts that, as their name implies, provides commentary on biblical passages. They define terms, discuss major themes, and identify how a particular collection of verses fits within the larger book. Commentaries discuss text, often at a verse-by-verse level. There are a few key ways to find biblical commentaries in our library. The first is to use the commentaries that are in the Reference section, listed below. The second way is to search the library catalog to find commentaries in the General Collection - as a bonus, you can check these out!

Biblical Commentaries in the Reference Section

Reference books are found on the main floor of the library facing Beck Hall.

New Interpreter's Bible - Ref BS 491.2 .N484 1994
A comprehensive commentary in twelve volumes, this leading resource provides the text in two translations, NRSV and New International Version, side by side, along with scholarly commentary.
New Jerome Biblical Commentary - Ref. BS491.2 .N485 1990
Queer Bible Commentary
This commentary brings together the work of several scholars and pastors known for their interest in the areas of gender, sexuality, and biblical studies. Contributors focus specifically upon portions of the biblical books that have particular relevance for readers interested in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
Oxford Bible Commentary - Ref BS491.3 .O94 2001
This one volume commentary provides line-by-line analysis for the NRSV.
Women's Bible Commentary - Ref BS491.2 .W66 1998
With essays written by Biblical Scholars who are also women, this commentary looks at the different books of the Bible from the feminist perspective. The essays focus on the passages of each book which are "of particular relevance to women".
Jewish Study Bible
Translation and commentary by Jewish scholars from around the world.
Global Bible Commentary - Ref BS491.3 .G57 2004
A diverse array of scholars from around the world brings their unique contexts to biblical interpretation in this work. They create a dialog with the Bible and previous scholarship, shedding new light on the biblical texts while also suggesting how the Bible might address the social, political, and economic dynamics of the world today.
Harper's Bible Commentary - Ref BS 491.2 .H37 1988
Follows the arrangement of the Bible, giving a brief introduction to each book of the Bible, then a short explanation of major passages. It is very good at making the language of the Bible clear, explaining context, and linking related passages together.

Biblical Commentaries in the General Collection

This includes multi-volume series where each volume is a commentary on a book of the Bible, as well as separately published commentaries on individual Biblical books. To search the catalog effectively, go to the Advanced Search screen. Enter the word "commentaries" in on search box, and set the drop down menu to Subject. Then enter the name of your book of the Bible (like Matthew or Genesis) in another search box. Then search & see what you find.

Hermeneia Series - General Collection - Various Locations
This is a series of commentaries on different books of the Bible. To locate these, search in the catalog for the series title and the title of a book of the Bible (ex. "Hermeneia" and "Hosea").
New Cambridge Bible Commentary Series - General Collection - Various Locations
This is a series of commentaries on different books of the Bible. To locate these, search in the catalog for the series title and the title of a book of the Bible (ex. "New Cambridge Bible Commentary" and "Genesis").
Old Testament Library - General Collection - Various Locations
This series of commentaries covers only books of the Old Testament. These are not shelved together - to locate one of these, search the catalog for the series title, the title of the book, and the publisher.
Anchor Bible Commentary Series - General Collection: BS192.2.A1 (44 vol)
This series of commentaries covers books from the OT and NT. These are shelved together in the general collection. Note that some books may be covered in two volumes, numbered 40 and 40A.