Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 284. Lutheran Church in America. Minnesota and Red River Valley Synods. Women’s Organizations of the Minnesota and Red River Valley Synods, 1961-1987: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Church in America.  Minnesota and Red River Valley Synods.  Women’s Organizations of the Minnesota and Red River Valley Synods, 1961-1987.  LCA Collection 284.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Women’s Organizations of the Minnesota and Red River Valley Synods collection consists of records that document activities from 1961-87.  Included are minutes, convention programs, handbooks, newsletters, and other materials related to the Lutheran Church Women organization within the Minnesota Synod, with specific materials from the St. Peter District, the Tyler District, and the Red River Valley Synod.

Scope and Content

These materials are organized into two series: Minnesota Synod and Red River Valley Synod.  The bulk of the materials in the Minnesota Synod series pertains to the St. Peter and Tyler districts.

Minnesota Synod:  This series consists of Minnesota Synod annual conventions programs and minutes, as well as policy information.  The St. Peter District and Tyler District also have programs and minutes from their respective district assemblies.  They each have secretary books containing financial forms, assembly reports, correspondences, and related materials.  The St. Peter District sub-series also contains handbooks for the district secretary and chairman, a congressional survey, and a roster of presidents and vice-presidents from 1975-1987.

Red River Valley Synod:  This series consists of one folder that holds the 1967 Records book of meeting minutes.  Minutes mention motions to pass costs for event planning, hosting speakers, programs to attend, etc.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License