Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Works?
Specialized reference works such as encyclopedias provide overviews and can give you a good sense of what's out there and what different approaches are being taken to a given topic. Most of our reference sources are located in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. Some are available online.
Featured Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Management by
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations by
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Recommended Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance - Ref HF1001 .E466 2014
Offers over 300 articles on accounting, economics, finance, information systems, ethics, management, and marketing, with a U.S. focus.
Encyclopedia of Group Processes & Intergroup Relations (Ref. HM716 .E53 2010)
With approximately 300 entries, the two volumes of this encyclopedia cover concepts ranging from conformity to diversity and from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale. Key themes include: Conflict and Cooperation Within Groups; Group Performance and Problem Solving; Influence and Persuasion; Organizations;
Types of Groups and Subgroups.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior - Ref BF 31 .E53 2012, 3 vols.
An alphabetical collection of articles on a wide variety of topics, including such specifics as handedness and blushing, as well as broader concepts such as interpersonal communications and intelligence. Each provides an overview of the current knowledge base and provides references to research on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships - Ref HM 1106 .E53 2009
Offers scholarly approaches to basic human relationships and emotions such as envy, social isolation, and abusive and violent relationships. The bibliographies are useful for tracking down related research.
Encyclopedia of Management - Ref HD 30.15 .E49 2012
Over 300 short essays on topics ranging from morale and mentoring to consumer behavior and performance appraisal.
Encyclopedia of Management Theory - Ref HD 30.15 .E493 2013
This encyclopedia examines key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research.
Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook - Reference HQ 1233 .G452 2010
"Focuses on women and public leadership in the American context, women's global leadership, women as leaders in the business sector, the nonprofit and social service sector, religion, academia, public policy advocacy, the media, sports, and the arts." (Publisher's description)
Handbook of Psychology - Ref BF121 .H213 2013, 12 vols.
Offers in-depth coverage of current knowledge in the field. Each volume tackles a part of the discipline, including history, research methods, biological psychology, personality and social psychology, developmental, forensic, and clinical psychology. Intended for specialists, these volumes summarize the current accepted knowledge in the field.
International Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Communication - Ref P 94.7 .I55 2016
Over 270 entries explore: interpersonal conflict, negotiation, relationship development, interactional adaptation, social influence, and, communication in the workplace, at school and within family life.
Leadership in Nonprofit Organizations: A Reference Handbook - Reference HD 62.6 .L413 2011
"Includes topics such as personalities of nonprofit leaders; vision and starting a nonprofit organization; nonprofit law, statutes, taxation, and regulations; strategic management; financial management; collaboration; public relations for promoting a nonprofit organization; and human resource policies and procedures." (Publisher's description)
SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology - Ref HF 5548.8 .E498 2017
Presents an overview of this cross-disciplinary field for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License